ROW80 Status – Day 6

So we’re a week into ROW80 and so far I’m keeping up with my goals. I have posted to my blog as promised and I have written at least 500 words of fiction every day. With the previously written pieces edited into my Work In Progress, my story is now up to 45,671 words. I had originally hoped to have the story come in at 100,000 words, but I’m starting to thing that it will be more like 60-70,000 instead. My outline was planned for the story to take place over the course of a week, starting at Monday, and I’m up to Friday night already. I’m pretty sure I can add another 15,000 words or so, but I don’t think I’ve got enough for 50,000.

If anyone is interested, the story is intended as a Paranormal Romance about a Valkyrie who falls in love with a mortal. The Valkyrie is a supernatural investigator, responsible for controlling the supernatural world in her area (Madison, WI). I was thinking that this might be a one-shot book, as I had planned for an unhappy ending. However, recent developments in the story are making me think that there may be more going on here than I had originally thought, and even with an unhappy ending there is the possibility to write more books in a series.

As you might expect since the heroine is a Valkyrie, the book is based on Norse mythology. So my idea is that the underlying theme of the series would be the impending threat of Ragnarok. I’m not sure how much of the mythos to include, but it’s starting to look like this is going to be an interesting ride. Please leave a comment if you think this idea is something you would be interested in reading. After all, I’m going to need someone to critique it, right?

8 Comments

Filed under ROW80, The Writing Experience

8 responses to “ROW80 Status – Day 6

  1. Well done on keeping up with your goals. I like Norse mythology and I have a soft spot for Valkyrie so I’m going to say it sounds like a good idea.

  2. I’m not up on mythology much…but this does sound like an intriguing story idea. I love the Scandinavian twist…I’m of Swedish descent, and the Swedes have typically not liked Norse people…LOL.

    Good luck!

    Here’s my post:

    http://laurelrainsnowswonderland.wordpress.com/2011/01/09/row-80-check-in-post-jan-9/

  3. Great job keeping up with your goals! I think your story sounds fabulous! Best of luck in week 2.

  4. Highly intrigued by your story idea and good job this week. 🙂

  5. Wonderful progress! Norse mythology fascinates me and urban fantasy-esque tales even more so. Glad to see you’re enjoying the story too!

  6. Glad to hear you’re keeping up with your ROW80 goals. I love Valkyries. Good luck this week!

  7. Congrats on your progress. Keep up the good work!

  8. Ooooh I love that you’re writing about Valkyries. And don’t worry about word count… let the story be the length it needs to be. Good luck with week nr.2.

Leave a Reply

