ROW80 Status – Day 9

All right, the first thing I have to say is “Oops”. I just realized that I wasn’t counting my days correctly. Since this challenge started on January 3, my last post wasn’t Day 8 as originally posted (and now edited), but Day 6. Now that the error is corrected, I feel ready to continue.

I continue to write at least 500 words of fiction each day. As part of that, however, I have had to make a slight change in what I am writing. I added a new project. The reason for the new project is personal, so if you don’t mind a little insight into me and my life then by all means read on!

First, a little background information into yours truly. I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, otherwise known as the Mormons. I don’t profess to be perfect. Far from it. Like most people I struggle with my faith. I do have a firm and solid belief that my church is true, but sometimes I have trouble resisting the temptations of the world.

As a member of the church, I have been called to serve as an instructor in our Elder’s Quorum, which is essentially a discussion group that meets during the last hour of our church meetings each week, and is composed of adult men mostly aged 21 and up. I like being an instructor, as I feel that I usually get more out of the class as a teacher than as a participant.

The class this week was on the Sabbath, as in “Remember the sabbath day, to keep it holy.” (Exodus 20:8). As I was preparing for the class I thought about my ROW80 goal of writing 500 words every day, and I realized that writing a paranormal romance novel on Sunday wasn’t exactly following this scripture. So I had a predicament. If I stopped writing on Sunday I wouldn’t be keeping my goal, but if I kept writing my novel I would be breaking one of the ten commandments.

As I pondered my quandary I was suddenly struck by a possible alternative solution to my problem. (Revelation? Maybe.) I could still write 500 words of fiction on Sunday if I chose to write a story that would be dealing with a religious theme. So I decided I would write a Young Adult Christian-themed novel, tentatively titled Six Days to Sabbath. I’m not quite sure where the story is going, but I think it will either have something to do with Creation (Genesis), or with the Second Coming of Christ (Revelations). Probably the latter. Either way, I got a good start this week and I am actually looking forward to next Sunday to continue it.

My other ROW80 goals of posting to my blog are going well, as you can see by my post history. I haven’t started edits on Dragons at Dawn yet, but I am getting good feedback from several of my friends and family that are helping me figure out where to focus my efforts when I start the rewrite. Finding Valhalla is up to 46,756 words, and Six Days to Sabbath is at 507 words.

I hope you all are doing well on your goals. We’re all in this together!

2 Comments

Filed under About Me, ROW80, The Writing Experience

2 responses to “ROW80 Status – Day 9

  1. I almost had the same problem of counting the days wrong, because I glanced at the date…and thought: did I miss some days? Because 1/9 sounded like it should be the ninth day….

    So I changed my notebook set-up with Day 1, etc., listing the actual date next to it. See, I need little reminders to myself or I lose track…LOL

    I like the way you dealt with your Sabbath issue. Very creative!

  2. That’s very interesting, it hasn’t ever occurred to me that writing certain genres on certain days may be a problem for some writers. I think you dealt with it in the best way though, you could have quit writing on that day but instead you chose to write something more appropriate for your circumstances – kudos. 🙂

    Oh, and congrats on keeping that word count up!

Leave a Reply

