ROW80 Status – Day 23 (Jan 25)

Not much to report since last time. I am still keeping up with my goals. Word counts are below:

  • Finding Valhalla – 53884
  • Six Days To Sabbath – 1659

A recent comment praised me on the ability to work on two novels at once. Maybe it’s weird, but I find myself not only thinking about the stories I am writing, but also considering what I might write about next. Years ago I had a time management seminar that warned against the “rabbit habit”, or the tendency to hop from one project to another. The problem is that doing that usually results in nothing getting finished. I want to finish my stories. I also want to go back and edit my first book, Dragons At Dawn. But I’m starting to get all these other ideas whispering in my ear, tempting me to just spend one night with them. And I know that, like a succubus, once they get their claws into me they won’t let go. And I won’t want them to.

Maybe what I need to do is start working on a story file. Something that I can use to put some of my ideas down until I finish what I already have going. Then I can pull one out and give it the attention it deserves. I have read about other authors doing this, and it sounds like a good idea.

What do you think? Do you have a story file? Do you have ideas begging for attention. Are you tempted?

7 Comments

Filed under ROW80, The Writing Experience

7 responses to “ROW80 Status – Day 23 (Jan 25)

  1. I’m always tempted by new ideas. I’ve got one novel I’ve started editing (it needs some major revisions), another I’m in the middle of, and I’m finishing up a short story. I’ve also got countless ideas for more short stories and novels eating at my brain, itching to get out. It’s really annoying 😉

  2. Glad to see I’m not the only one who gets pestered by multiple story ideas 😀
    I tend to have my different stories organised both in digital folders on my computer and in colour-coded hard-copy folders. The digital folders contain any outlines I’ve written, as well as any random scenes/notes I’ve typed up just so I don’t forget them, while the hard-copy folders are used for storing bits of the work that have been workshopped. I wish I could cure myself of the ‘rabbit habbit’, but at least when I do jump back and forth between stories, I always know where to find what I’m looking for.

  3. I work on multiple ideas at the same time. When I get an idea I collect them on index cards. When I need several cards for one idea they get promoted to their own index card folder where I can keep adding things as I think of them. When I feel ready I can then move on to sift through the ideas, continue with plotting and outlining, character work etc.

  4. I just visited another ROW 80 participant who has created a series of folders for her various story ideas…Tanja, at this link:

    http://www.tmgunston.com/2011/01/index-card-folder-tutorial-row80-update/

    Maybe some of her ideas will be useful to you.

  5. First of all, great wordcount!

    I started keeping an idea journal when it became apparent that, if I didn’t, I might not remember all the little succu-er-ideas nibbling at my ears.

  6. I am sooooo freaking tempted. Usually, if something keeps bothering me, I’ll create a file and jot down a few ideas or a scene or two then leave it. It’s like my brain goes, okay, she paid attention, let’s move on now. 😀

  7. I have folders and notebooks and all sorts of files that contain germs of potential stories and partial stories. Is it SBS? (Squirrel Brain Syndrome)
    I save every idea though, thinking that some day–when I have more time and the inclination–I’ll return to them and flesh them out. I do like the idea of working on two at a time. Each day, you could write on the one that gives you the most inspiration.

Leave a Reply

