Submissions and Rejections

Today I plan on sending my first submission. The Knight Agency is having a contest with the winner being offered representation. I put a little bit about it in my blog yesterday. I’ll be submitting Finding Valhalla for the contest since it is the only finished book I have that I consider to be fairly well written.

I’m not expecting much from this. I know that I am a beginning author, and I know that I have a lot of work to do before my writing is ready for publishing. But the fact is that everyone has to start somewhere. If nothing else, this contest will help me know how far I have to go by how far I get in the contest.

If I get dropped on the first round, I know it sucks. If it’s the second round, then I know that I need to do a lot of editing work. If they pass on the third round, then maybe my writing isn’t so bad, and with a little editing I could submit somewhere else. If by some miracle I make it to the fourth and final round, then maybe I should finish my editing as soon as possible and start submitting to other agencies.

Personally, I am hoping to at least pass the first round, but expect to be dropped after the second. But I’m a pessimist.

The other part of this process is the rejection. I fully expect a rejection at some point. And any published author will tell you that EVERY author should expect the same. No matter how good you are, you will probably get a rejection letter before you get an agency or a publisher to accept your manuscript. That’s just the way the system works. The important thing is that you keep trying. If the first place you send your book to doesn’t like it, the second, or third, or 89th place might. Any contact you have with an agent or editor is a good one.

I’ll keep you all informed on my status with this contest. Wish me luck!

1 Comment

Filed under About Me, Networking, The Writing Experience

One response to “Submissions and Rejections

  1. Rejection is the first step to success. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

