ROW80 Status – Day 65 (March 8)

Goals:

  1. 500 words of new fiction every day
  2. Finish first draft of Finding Valhalla (DONE!)
  3. Start editing Dragons At Dawn
  4. Post to my blog on Monday and Thursday
  5. Post ROW80 updates on Sunday and Wednesday

Word counts:

  • 3/6 – 707
  • 3/7 – 562
  • 3/8 – 517

Six Days To Sabbath is at 20,762 words. Finding Valhalla is finished. Editing progresses slowly on Dragons At Dawn. Blog posts are all on schedule.

My plans to submit Finding Valhalla to the Knight Agency on Monday fell through. The contest was for 125 people chosen at random from people that left a comment on their blog during a one hour window. I left my comment, but there were about 500 others that also commented. I didn’t even make it into the first round.

I am disappointed that I didn’t get into the contest, but not too much. I wasn’t really ready to submit anyway. I need to get a lot more editing done before it will be ready for an agent or publisher. I do wish the best of luck to all the people that managed to get into the first round of the contest. I’m going to go back to working on editing Dragons At Dawn instead.

Good luck on your goals, and see you back here on Sunday!

3 Comments

Filed under Networking, ROW80, The Writing Experience

3 responses to “ROW80 Status – Day 65 (March 8)

  1. You’re making great progress, and it’s also wonderful that you’re putting yourself out there, entering contests and ready to make the rounds.

    Good luck…and congrats on the finished draft.

  2. The important thing is that you are making great forward progress!

    Diedre and the rest of the folks at the Knight Agency are great agents. I’ve met Diedre and she is very friendly and approachable, but she is also very blunt–she wants to see your best work. If I were you, I would edit that sucker and query her or another agent at the agency the old fashioned way with a novel that you feel confident about.

    Another way to hook up with a representative from the Knight agency: I know that Diedre goes to writing conferences to have writers pitch their stories to her there. It’s great–one on one with an agent, where you can really see if your personalities mesh. It can be nerve wracking, but is a great experience. I’ve seen her at RWA conferences; I’m not sure what else she does. But you don’t have to be a romance writer to go to RWA conferences. They are helpful to everyone (I write speculative fiction, myself).

    Good luck!!

    Mad

Leave a Reply

