ROW80 Status – Day 80 (March 24)

Goals:

  1. 500 words of new fiction every day
  2. Finish first draft of Finding Valhalla (DONE!)
  3. Start editing Dragons At Dawn
  4. Post to my blog on Monday and Thursday
  5. Post ROW80 updates on Sunday and Wednesday

Word Counts:

  • 3/20 – 524
  • 3/21 – 510
  • 3/22 – 524
  • 3/23 – 529
  • 3/24 – 577

Six Days To Sabbath is at 28,654 words and is almost done. Finding Valhalla is finished. Editing progresses slowly on Dragons At Dawn. Blog posts are all on schedule.

This challenge was great. It really encouraged me to keep going whenever I just wanted to take a break. I knew that if I stopped for even one day there was a chance that I wouldn’t start up again. I think I have made a lot of progress as a writer during the last three months, and hopefully this will continue as I keep working on my craft.

I have to confess that I didn’t get a lot of editing done on Dragons At Dawn. Mostly I just reorganized my original files and started character profiles for all the major players. For the next round of ROW80 I intend to do more actual editing, and hopefully have the second draft done by the end of the round.

My tentative goals for the next round are:

  1. Spend at least half an hour every day on writing or editing, an hour on weekends (I won’t commit to a word count, but I will at least commit to sitting down to work every day)
  2. Finish rewrite of Dragons At Dawn (I really need to buckle down and do this)
  3. Post to my blog on the ROW80 update days (because 4 times a week was just too much)
  4. Read at least one of my books on writing every week (because they don’t do any good if I don’t read them)

Unless something terrible happens, these goals should be attainable for me and still give me time to do other things, like catch up on the backlog of e-books I have to read. See you in April for the next round!

8 Comments

Filed under ROW80, The Writing Experience

8 responses to “ROW80 Status – Day 80 (March 24)

  1. It looks like you’ve achieved your goals, despite the things you feel you didn’t get done…I think we’re all doing a bit of second-guessing. Perhaps our goals should be smaller?

    I know that mine didn’t exactly come to fruition (for the daily moments), but the overall goals turned out fine.

    See you in the next round!

  2. yeah I was a little optomistic – but it seems you managed a lot – I think we have all learnt our limitations – look forward to seeing you in April

  3. Looks like you have a good balance of reading, writing, and rewriting goals for the next round. Good luck!

  4. You did great in round one, congrats. I’ll be focusing a lot on editing next round too so watching your progress will keep me boosted. 🙂

    The best thing you said was about feeling like you made a lot of progress as a writer. It’s so important for us and writing so regularly obviously helped you. I feel like I’ve made progress in that way too and I’m hoping I get a little better at editing by the time the next round is through.

  5. Congratulations on all you accomplished. I once heard that if we stop writing for one day, it takes three days to get caught up. So keep plugging away every day.

  6. Congrats on sticking with the challenge. You’ve gotten a lot done. I think Row80 has been great for showing us that we can work around other things i our lives and always find time to write. See ya next round!

  7. You know what? You have more now than you did when we started ROW80. And that’s great. 🙂

  8. Congratulations on all you’ve done – and, wow, you’re already ready for the next round!

Leave a Reply

