Let the Editing Begin

I have decided that it is time to start editing. I have two completed first drafts and I really want to get at least one of them published by the end of the year. The first one is Dragons At Dawn, my NaNoWriMo project, and I have to admit that it needs a lot of work. The second one is Finding Valhalla, my paranormal romance, and while I am sure it needs work, overall I feel it is a stronger story, so that is the one I have decided to concentrate on for now.

I plan on going to WisCon this year. I am looking forward to the panels, and to making some new contacts in the publishing industry. Part of the convention is also a writers workshop. This means that I need to get the first 10,000 words of Finding Valhalla at least partially edited by April 8 to submit for the workshop. I have already started, and have about 1/4 of that goal completed, but there is still a lot of work to do in the next week.

I joined a local critique group this week, and they gave me a lot of good feedback. The group also gives me an opportunity to practice reading a story with an eye to how it might be made better. Certainly something that will help me evaluate my own work.

I am also planning on participating in the second round of ROW80, and Ihave mentioned my goals in prior posts. I expect to repost those goals sometime in the next couple of days. If you are a writer, I hope you consider joining us.

Wish me luck on my editing efforts. So far it seems to be a more painful process than writing the initial draft.

1 Comment

Filed under About Me, NaNoWriMo, Networking, ROW80, The Writing Experience

One response to “Let the Editing Begin

  1. Good luck, Scott…I also hope to get a lot of editing done in this next round.

Leave a Reply

