ROW80 Update April 17

Goals:

  1. Spend at least half an hour every day on writing or editing, an hour on weekends
  2. Finish rewrite of Dragons at Dawn
  3. Post to my blog on the ROW80 update days (Sunday and Wednesday)
  4. Read at least one of my books on writing every week

I have been working on editing every day, and I now have most of the rough outline for Demons at Dusk sketched out. I’ve just started working on the ending, but today I started rethinking how I want it to end. Part of that is from what I read in Save the Cat, but Blake Snyder, the next book on my reading list about how to write. I finished Revision & Self-Editing by James Scott Bell yesterday. I liked Bell’s book, but even though I have only read Chapter 1 of Save the Cat, it started with a bang, giving me a lot to think about on how to make sure my stories are worth the reader’s attention. I’ll let you know more about what I think on Wednesday.

For now, let me leave you with a sample “logline” for Demons at Dusk. A logline is one sentence that tells the reader what your story is about. Please leave a comment to let me know what you think. Does the logline grab your attention and make you want to read more?

Demons at Dusk – A man has to learn magic from a dragon in order to save his family from an invading army of demons.

That’s it for today. See you on Wednesday!

4 Comments

Filed under ROW80

4 responses to “ROW80 Update April 17

  1. I like the logline…I find it difficult to create one. Or as my publisher has mentioned, an “elevator pitch.”

    Keep up the great work.

  2. Log line got my attention. Makes me ask ‘How?’ It goes well with your title. Best of luck next week!

  3. I like your logline and congrats on the editing process. Enjoy writing your ending! Until next time…

  4. I definitely like the logline. It sounds intriguing. That kind of thing is hard for me to come up with. I can’t even come up with good titles half the time. LOL

Leave a Reply

