ROW80 Update April 20

Goals:

  1. Spend at least half an hour every day on writing or editing, an hour on weekends
  2. Finish rewrite of Dragons at Dawn
  3. Post to my blog on the ROW80 update days (Sunday and Wednesday)
  4. Read at least one of my books on writing every week

I have been working on editing every day, and I have finished the rough outline for Demons at Dusk and started the outline for the second book, Monsters at Midnight. I think that once I finish all the outlines I will go through them using the tips from the Save the Cat book by Blake Snyder. I’m on Chapter 6 now (of 8), and I am finding a lot of great advice on how to make sure my stories grab the reader’s attention and keep it throughout the book. Even though he wrote it for screenwriters, the tips in the book apply to any fiction writing.

On a personal note, I had some really bad news on Monday. It appears that my nephew (12 years old) committed suicide. My brother and sister-in-law are understandably devastated. I’m pretty upset about it myself, even though I didn’t have a lot of contact with him. The worst part is that I want to do something to help or comfort them, but I don’t really know how. My brother and I don’t agree in our religious beliefs, so it is difficult for me to give him the words of comfort that my faith provides when his church believes the opposite. The best that I can do is just offer my support.

And of course, as a writer, I am considering how to use this in one of my stories.

That’s my update. I’ll be back on Sunday. See you then!

3 Comments

Filed under About Me, ROW80

3 responses to “ROW80 Update April 20

  1. Oh, I’m sorry about your news…and you’re right, offering support is the best thing to do.

    About six years ago, my 22-year-old nephew committed suicide and devastated the whole family. Especially since nobody saw it coming…except he had just come back from Iraq a year or so before.

    These kinds of things always leave the survivors questioning themselves.

    As for your goals, they sound right-on target. Good luck!

  2. I found you through ROW80, Scott. I am truly sorry to hear of your nephew’s suicide. Twelve years old is so very young. Your brother will need your support so you are right to offer it, but I can appreciate your concern over differing religious beliefs. I will keep you in my prayers during this week. ~Nadja

  3. Soleil Noir

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I’m sure that your Brother will appreciate the sentiments behind your thoughts and comfort even though you share different beliefs. I know it’s not as simple as all that but grief can bring people together like nothing else. Because we all have known it in one way or another.

    Good luck with your continued progress, but please don’t feel guilty if you need to take time to grieve.

Leave a comment