ROW80 Update April 24 – Happy Easter!

Goals:

  1. Spend at least half an hour every day on writing or editing, an hour on weekends
  2. Finish rewrite of Dragons at Dawn
  3. Post to my blog on the ROW80 update days (Sunday and Wednesday)
  4. Read at least one of my books on writing every week

I have been working on editing every day, and have finished the Save the Cat book by Blake Snyder. I also attended a meeting of Mad City Romance yesterday. Our guest of honor was Ann Voss Peterson, who has recently been nominated for a RITA award. She gave us a great workshop on character development, which made me realize what was wrong with my outlines. I came home and tore into them, determined to rewrite them with a focus on who the characters are instead of what I can make them suffer. I have also started reading Writing the Short Story, by Jack M Bickham. Hopefully this will give me a better background in writing short fiction, which I can use when I have smaller ideas.

As a follow-up to my post on Wednesday about my nephew’s death, I got more of the story at the funeral on Thursday. It wasn’t a suicide. That doesn’t make his death any easier to handle, but it is some small comfort to know that it wasn’t intentional. If you are interested in knowing more about Jackson Cole Steele, you can read his obituary. You can also watch a couple of short interviews with him and his family taken just a few weeks ago (March 31)  with the links below:

Interview, Part 1

Interview, Part 2

If his story moves you, you can make a donation to Camp Kesem in his name by making the donation payable to “Camp Kesem UW” and sending it to the following address:

Student Activity Center
333 E Campus Mall
Mailbox #104
Madison WI 53715
 

That’s my update. See you back here on Wedneday!

2 Comments

Filed under About Me, Networking, ROW80, The Writing Experience

2 responses to “ROW80 Update April 24 – Happy Easter!

  1. You’re right…it doesn’t make it easier. Hope your journey through grief is filled with family and friend support.

    You’re doing well on your challenge here.

  2. I’m so sorry about your nephew. I lost a nephew last year, and it isn’t easy.

    It sounds like you’re doing well on ROW80. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

