ROW80 Update May 4

Goals:

  1. Spend at least half an hour every day on writing or editing, an hour on weekends
  2. Finish rewrite of Dragons at Dawn
  3. Post to my blog on the ROW80 update days (Sunday and Wednesday)
  4. Read at least one of my books on writing every week

I have come to a point with my short story about my lead in Finding Valhalla where I think I might be able to stop. There is a lot more that I could write, but I think I might go with the “less is more” option for now. The story has given me a lot of insight into her personality and powers, and I’m not sure that writing any more of her history would be of any benefit to the novel. I think I’ll clean it up a little more, and then post my 3,000 words somewhere for anyone who wants to read it.

I am still reading Writing the Short Story, by Jack M Bickham. I’m up to Chapter 12 (of 18), but still not finding much that is specific to writing shorts. I’ll keep plugging away to the end though. If nothing else, it does have some useful general writing advice.

I’ll check in again on Sunday. See you then!

2 Comments

Filed under ROW80, The Writing Experience

2 responses to “ROW80 Update May 4

  1. Sounds like you’re doing well with your goals. Wishing you success for the rest of the week as well! 🙂

  2. “I think I’ll clean it up a little more, and then post my 3,000 words somewhere for anyone who wants to read it.”

    Awesome! Great job on finishing, I look forward to reading Finding Valhalla. 😀

Leave a Reply

