ROW80 Update May 11

Goals:

  1. Spend at least half an hour every day on writing or editing, an hour on weekends
  2. Finish rewrite of Dragons at Dawn
  3. Post to my blog on the ROW80 update days (Sunday and Wednesday)
  4. Read at least one of my books on writing every week

I found that I didn’t have anything to read for my critique group last night, because I have been working so much on plotting my revisions that I haven’t done any writing recently. I am almost tempted into starting yet another project just to have something that I can contribute. But it would probably be better to keep plugging away at my plans so that I can begin my rewrites soon.

I am really looking forward to WisCon in a couple of weeks. Part of my excitement is that I will get to meet a lot of people in the publishing industry. I hope to make some contacts with other writers, as well as publishers and editors that I can talk to about selling my books. The one concern I have is that I have thought about my Valkyrie story so much since I made my submission for the writer’s workshop that I now have a much different idea about my story than what they will be reviewing. They will probably still have good input though, and I can probably ask what they might think of my new ideas.

I am still reading Writing the Short Story, by Jack M Bickham. I haven’t made any progress since my last update, and am still on Chapter 12 (of 18).

See you back here on Sunday. Hopefully I’ll have finished the Bickham book by then.

1 Comment

Filed under Networking, ROW80, The Writing Experience

One response to “ROW80 Update May 11

  1. Congrats on your ability to stay on task, especially in the face of upcoming events that sound very exciting.

    I should also grab some books on writing…I’m doing rewrites on one of my WIPs now, and it’s always good to consult the “experts” along the way.

Leave a Reply

