ROW80 Update May 18

Goals:

  1. Spend at least half an hour every day on writing or editing, an hour on weekends
  2. Finish planning the rewrites of my three works in progress
  3. Post to my blog on the ROW80 update days (Sunday and Wednesday)
  4. Read at least one of my books on writing every week

I am still working out my plots, but I decided to start writing the beginning of my trilogy yesterday. The incentive was my critique group. I blew out 1200 words for Demons at Dusk yesterday primarily because I didn’t like not having anything to share. And it was a good thing I did, too, because I ended up being the only one with anything to read! To top it off, nobody liked it. Actually, they thought it was interesting, but they all thought that I needed more description for the demons and were concerned about my depiction of a couple of army officers in one section. Essentially, they thought that the stick up their ass wasn’t big enough. So I guess I still have a lot of work to do.

I’ve got a busy Saturday planned this weekend. I’ll be spending the morning at the monthly meeting of our local Romance Writers Association. The theme this month is writing sex scenes (no kids allowed). After lunch I’ll be attending a book discussion group at my library. We’re reading The Postmistress by Sarah Blake. It’s a book about a radio journalist in WWII Europe and the effect her broadcasts have on a small New England town. I am really enjoying it, and highly recommend it to everyone.

I’m still reading the Writer’s Guide to Character Traits by Linda N Edelstein, Ph.D. I have to admit I haven’t gotten very far into it, but I am looking forward to spending some more time with it in the near future. Right now, though, my reading time is pretty full finishing some library books that are due in the next week.

I’ll be back on Sunday for another update. See you then!

5 Comments

Filed under Networking, ROW80, The Writing Experience

5 responses to “ROW80 Update May 18

  1. Oh, it’s so hard to hear criticisms…it doesn’t sound like they were all that constructive, either.

    Maybe it didn’t come across negatively, but we writers do have thin skins sometimes!

    Hang in there!

  2. I know they meant well, and I think that for the most part they were valid concerns, but still….
    It wasn’t easy getting those words out, and I was the only one prepared for the group. I probably would have felt a little bit better if I could have returned some of the pain. 😉

  3. Sounds like a tough crit group. And nobody else wrote anything? Is that the norm? Did they say anything positive besides it was “interesting”? I hope so. Criticism without any ways to improve is pretty pointless. I’m glad it didn’t discourage you. That means you’ll get there.

    • There are usually at least two people with something to read. This was the seventh week I’ve attended and there was only one time when I didn’t have anything to share. They did have some positive feedback, and they did give me some good ideas on how to improve the story, so it certainly wasn’t pointless. Just rough.

  4. Jennifer Hoyer

    In my own experience, I find it hard sharing my work because in a way it is like opening myself up for other people to pick at. But I am much more worried about when they have NOTHING to say, than when they are full of criticism. 🙂 Keep the faith, man.

Leave a Reply

