ROW80 Update June 5

Goals:

  1. Spend at least half an hour every day on writing or editing, an hour on weekends
  2. Finish planning the rewrites of my three works in progress
  3. Post to my blog on the ROW80 update days (Sunday and Wednesday)
  4. Read at least one of my books on writing every week

Keep on keepin’ on. That’s the idea today.

I have been trying to write every day, but yesterday didn’t go so well. I had time to write, but I didn’t. No excuse. I thought about writing, but nothing actually got done.

I didn’t get a chance to read any of my books on writing this week, but I picked up a book on body language from Barnes & Noble that I expect could be useful. Having a better understanding of body language should help me to describe character reactions in a “show, don’t tell” manner.

I hope to have my short story finished for my critique group on Wednesday. Then a few edits later I will submit it and see what happens.

Check out my Book Reviews page for my latest review of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, by Ransom Riggs. In summary, it was great.

See you back here on Wednesday!

3 Comments

Filed under Fiction, ROW80, The Writing Experience

3 responses to “ROW80 Update June 5

  1. Perhaps you’ve said, but is your critique group one you found online, or a physical group?

    Hang in there…I’ve suddenly started working more and I’m almost finished with the first round of rewrites on Defining Moments. I’m glad!

  2. next week maybe – body language is vital – without it is wrong – I remember interviewing a group of women (Uni project) who had been blind from birth and the lack of normal body language was diconcerting to say the least. They picked up on vocal clues but the atmosphere still felt jagged in some way. Good book to read.
    All the best for coming week – keep smiling

Leave a Reply

