ROW80 Update June 19 – Endings and Beginnings

Goals:

  1. Spend at least half an hour every day on writing or editing, an hour on weekends
  2. Finish planning the rewrites of my three works in progress
  3. Post to my blog on the ROW80 update days (Sunday and Wednesday)
  4. Read at least one of my books on writing every week

We are wrapping up this round of ROW80, and I am sorry to say that I am relieved to have it over. I think it helped me to keep focused on my writing, but for the last few weeks I have also felt that I needed a break. I have been meeting my goals most of the time, but still felt like I wasn’t making any progress. And I think that posting my status twice a week has been really boring for anyone following my blog.

I don’t think I will be participating in ROW80 for the next round. I have some ideas of what I want to do with my blog instead, including posting serious articles related to the research I am doing for my books, more blogs about things I am learning about the writing craft, and of course I will keep you all posted on my progress toward becoming a published author.

I just finished my “final” edits on my short story. I got it down to just over 3,000 words, so it is now right about where I want it for the submission guideline. I’m going to run it past my critique group on Tuesday, then I’ll send it in. It will be my first professional submission!

I am excited and anxious about sending it out. I know that odds are it will be rejected, and I would be OK with that, but I’m not as thick-skinned as I want people to think. Rejection sucks. Nobody wants to be told they’re not good enough. But if it comes back with a “No thank you” letter, I’ll just have to remember that they aren’t the only market out there, and send it out to someone else. Sooner or later someone will want it. Or maybe I’ll tell more of the story, build it up to 10,000 words or so and put it up on Kindle for 99¢. Whatever happens, I think it is a good story and I will share it with the world somehow.

I am rethinking my idea about posting my Dragons at Dawn trilogy as on this blog. I just finished reading Kristen Lamb‘s book WE ARE NOT ALONE: The Writer’s Guide to Social Media (great book!), and she advises against posting books online. I haven’t made a final decision yet, but I do think that I want to post some writing samples online eventually. I wrote a short story for my Finding Valhalla book that tells how my heroine got to be a Valkyrie. Maybe I’ll share that, along with other “just for fun” short stories that I write along the way. And when I get enough I can compile them into an e-book and maybe make some money off them.

Thanks for sticking with me. See you on Wednesday!

3 Comments

Filed under Networking, ROW80

3 responses to “ROW80 Update June 19 – Endings and Beginnings

  1. Good luck with the submission. You never know how you’ll get on. Remember though, if you are rejected, it’s one letter closer to an acceptance letter!

  2. we’ll miss you but best of luck – I couldn’t face posting Row80 on my blog 2 a week so I have only done so on the Sunday one – I found it less pressure and as I’m not a daily blogger it didn’t clog up my blog too much

    I have often wondered about posting book on the blog but have always decided against I couldn’t say why exactly it just didn’t seem right for me

    Anyway keep smiling and good luck

  3. I’m sorry you’re not going to be in Round 3, but sometimes you just have to make a decison that’s right for you. Who knows, you might miss us so much that you have to come back for Round 4. :0)

    Concerning posting your fiction on a blog…there are a lot of different opinions on that. Only you can decide if it’s right for you. I’m following one blog that does flash fiction and I’m really enjoying that. You might want to try something like that…just little short tales that are even shorter than the traditional short story length.

    Good luck with everything you’re working on.

Leave a Reply

