ROW80 Update June 22 – Critique Groups

Goals:

  1. Spend at least half an hour every day on writing or editing, an hour on weekends
  2. Finish planning the rewrites of my three works in progress
  3. Post to my blog on the ROW80 update days (Sunday and Wednesday)
  4. Read at least one of my books on writing every week

So much for my “final” edits on my short story. I thought it was done, but when I read it for my critique group last night, they had all sorts of comments on how it could be improved. So now I’m going at it again, and this edit will actually be deeper than the last ones. Hopefully it will focus the story and make it much better. For anyone who is interested, it’s called “Losing Control”, and is about a woman who gives up control to a mystery man in a sexual encounter and never gets it back. It also has dragons.

So my point here is the importance of having someone who can give you constructive criticism on your writing. No matter how cute you think your baby is, someone else is going to look at it and see the way the kid takes after the ugliest branch on your family tree. Even though the comments my group gave me on my story mean that I have a ton of rewrites to do, I appreciate every bit of feedback, because it means that the story will be a lot better in the end.

I’m also planning to rewrite my short story for my Finding Valhalla book that tells how my heroine got to be a Valkyrie. It was a good story, but I think that the plot wasn’t quite right for the character and her family legacy, so I am tearing it up and doing it over.

For all of my friends from ROW80, it has been great being a part of this project, and you may see me again in the future, but for Round 3 you’ll have to count me out. Of course, you are welcome to keep stopping by my blog, and I expect to stop by your blogs to keep up with my friends. Best wishes and all my love!

1 Comment

Filed under ROW80, The Writing Experience

One response to “ROW80 Update June 22 – Critique Groups

  1. sorry to lose you in round three – hope to see you back again – well done with everything done in round 2 and all the best – keep smiling

Leave a Reply

