July 14 – Work, Work, Work

I’m still on vacation, but the house cleaning that I have been doing has taken up so much of my time that I haven’t been able to get much writing done. On the plus side, I am getting rid of a lot of junk that I don’t really need. So far we have thrown out three chairs, a portable baby playpen, and a lot of old mail. We donated a load of clothes and curtains to St Vincent de Paul, and will probably be making another trip today or tomorrow with some old toys and more clothes. I’m also planning to take a bunch of programming books to Half-Price Books to see what I can get for them. We probably won’t finish the cleaning project this week, but we have made a lot of progress.

I’m still working on Finding Valhalla, usually before bed every night. I’ve been pretty tired, so not much writing gets done, but at least I am still working on it. I’m also looking for a new short story project. I’m registered for Duotrope, so what I was thinking was that I would sift through their lists and see if anything of the calls for submission spark any interest with me. I’m always up for a challenge, and I don’t have anything else poking at my brain right now, so having a goal to write to would make things a little easier for me. If you know of any good submission calls, let me know. Ideally I would like a paying market, with a word count between 3000 to 5000 words. I don’t really care about the genre. Even though I have been focusing on urban fantasy and paranormal, I’ll write anything. A couple of days ago I had an idea for a modern-day romance involving a man and a woman falling in love while trying to help a disturbed child. A little too detailed for a short story, but I may write it for NaNoWriMo this year.

I’ve got to get back to cleaning now, so I’ll see you back here on Monday!

Leave a comment

Filed under About Me, NaNoWriMo, Submissions, The Writing Experience

Leave a Reply

