August 11 – Keep on Keepin’ on

Today wasn’t a good day for me. Nothing terrible, but I was turned down for a job promotion that I interviewed for last week and it kind of bummed me out. Sometimes all it takes is one little thing to ruin the whole day.

So let’s try to think of something positive, shall we? We’ll start with a link to the Big Book of Bizarro, now available on Amazon.com for $19.99. I know the publisher would love it if you would go pick it up. I wouldn’t mind either. I need to build a fan base somehow!

 I have been reading this book, and let me tell you, the title says it all. There are some really freaky stories in there. The book is divided into three sections: Horror, Sci-fi and Fantasy, and Erotica. My story is the last one in the Sci-fi and Fantasy section. Just before the Erotica, so I’ve got that going for me, which is nice.

I finished reading the Horror section today, and started on the Sci-fi stories. Some of my friends have been commenting on how weird the cover art is, but I found out today that it actually depicts a character in the first story in that section. I’m not sure if the picture was taken because of the story, or if the story was written to fit the picture, but either way it is a direct link, and I like it.

So help spread the madness and pick up a copy of this book. You may have nightmares for a year or so, but at least you can cut back on the psychotropic drugs without going into withdrawal! If your dealer complains, buy a copy for him too. Revenge is sweet!

 

So as the title says, it’s time to keep on keepin’ on. Like I said at the start of this word vomitation, my day kind of sucked. I actually am working on a nice little headache right now. Good thing to get going just before bed, right?

Anyway, my point is that this sort of thing happens. Life sucks, you don’t get the promotion, what little hair you have left is turning gray, you’ve got aches and pains in places you didn’t even know you had, friends let you down, the guy you gave your hit list to just got arrested…. Know what I mean?

For writers, there is writer’s block, plot holes, characters that are so flat they may as well have been run over by a steamroller, dialogue that sounds like you overheard it in the high school locker room, and the black hole of editing hell, where you get sucked in and feel like you are never going to be able to get out alive.

I’ve been feeling a bit like that myself lately. I stopped editing my novels, primarily because it seemed like there was simply too much to change. I was starting to think that I may as well just start from scratch instead of trying to fix the first draft. Every time I looked at it I kept thinking of different ways to write it.

So that’s one of the reasons I have been working on my short stories instead. The other reason is because I was told by “experts” that it was also the best way to get published. The problem is that I am having the same trouble with editing the shorts that I was with the novels. I have been through three drafts of “The Hunt” so far, and each time I show it to someone I end up rewriting the whole thing from the beginning. And I haven’t even figured out how to end it yet.

But I keep on keepin’ on. I’m not giving up. I WILL finish this story. And then I’ll send it out to see if I can sell it. And then I’ll write another one. And another one. And another one. And maybe someday I’ll have enough experience to actually start some serious rewrites on those three novels in my “trunk”.

Because that’s what writers do. They write.

I’ll be back with some more writing on Monday. See you then.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction, The Writing Experience

Leave a Reply

