September 1 – New Projects

I woke up this morning with another idea for a story, so after I added it to my idea list I thought I would try to get my post done early. And since I am starting a new project, I thought that would be a good topic for today.

I get a lot of my ideas from those dreams that I have just before I get up. That means that a lot of them are really weird, but I think that some of them still have potential. This morning I had a dream that was unusual, but not impossible. I think it might make a good romance, but I’ve already picked my next project, so I set it aside for later. Maybe I’ll work on it for NaNoWriMo.

It’s kind of fun to work on a new project. You have a blank slate, where anything is possible. You think that your idea is great and you can’t wait to get started.

But then you start to realize what it is going to take to fully develop your story. You need to make sure you have the right characters, and figure out how they are going to grow along the way. The plot details have to be worked out, to make sure that it is exciting and keeps the reader interested until the end. You have to figure out where to set your story, and determine how the setting affects (or is affected by) the plot and characters. And lots of other little things that can drive you so crazy you wonder if you are ever going to be able to start writing.

One of the most common questions that established writers get asked is whether or not they use an outline. Many do, working out their story in minute detail before they start writing. Others do a basic outline, leaving lots of room for the story to take them wherever it wants to go. And there are a few that get an idea and just start writing.

I tried the first method, but I had trouble figuring out the details of the plot. So I started writing and let the characters tell me where they wanted to go. They had no trouble filling in the holes. I have also written without any preparation at all, letting the initial idea guide me along the way.

My new project is too ambitious for that style of writing. The idea is huge, and I just don’t think I could do it justice if I started without some initial preparation. I’m hoping to be able to develop it into a big series, like Game of Thrones or Harry Potter. But in order to do that I need to sit down and work out some details of the plot of each book, and how they all intertwine.

The idea is of the standard hero against the evil overlord variety, but there will be aspects of immortality and magic involved, so the conflict will span centuries. There will be flashbacks to the distant past, but the current events will take place in the far future, although the future will be bleak and actually more closely resemble the past of the Dark Ages. The hero and villain will start out as friends and I want to be able to show how they start growing apart, until they end up fighting each other.

Like I said, a big idea. I am currently trying to work out the details of the characters and character development. Then I will figure out the basic plot outlines and themes. After that I should do some world-building and organize the subplots. My working title for the series is “Immortalis Rex”, meaning “Immortal King”. That should also have an effect on the overarching plot, but I haven’t quite figured out how much yet.

This is going to be a lot of work, but I think that it could be the best thing I do, so I’m not going to rush it. I should be able to start writing by the end of this month, but I would rather be prepared than have it all fall apart on me halfway through.

On another note, I’m still waiting for news on my latest submission. I’ll be sure to let you all know once I get a response. Thank you for all your support, and I’ll see you again on Monday!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction, Submissions, The Writing Experience

Leave a Reply

