September 15 – Writing Makes You FAT!

I have a problem. The first step is admitting it, right? So here goes.

Last year at this time I had just finished a long diet. I joined SparkPeople, a free website for people who want to live a healthy lifestyle. It took me about fifteen months to lose about 150 pounds. When I finished I weighed 175 pounds, the same weight I was in high school, almost 25 years ago. I felt great! And it was due to simple diet and exercise, along with an unwavering focus. I swore that I never going to get that fat again.

Then NaNoWriMo happened, and I started going to Starbucks. Then Culvers. Then I joined my weekly writing critique group and started going to the local restaurant for dinner with my wife every week.

My exercise also dropped off. My bike, which I had been using to commute to work, didn’t get fixed this spring, so I couldn’t ride it at all. I bought a car. I also bought a stationary exercise bike, but to be honest my wife has been using it more than me. I still walk to work sometimes, but it is much less than I should.

So the end result is that I now weigh 235 pounds. Sixty pounds more than I weighed last year. And I mainly blame the writing. The hedonistic lifestyle of a writer is making me fat. My butt spends more time in a chair than on a bike. I am writing when I should be working out. I go to restaurants and make the wrong menu choices, mainly just because it tastes great and I am having too much fun with my friends to care.

Yesterday I went to a blood drive, and I couldn’t give blood. They told me my blood pressure was too high. I honestly think the reason for that was because my pants were too tight. This can’t go on.

So I am making a resolution. I’m going to get back on my diet. I’m going to start losing the weight again. I’m going to try to get back down to at least 200 pounds in the next six months, and this time I really am going to keep it off.

Let this be a lesson to all of you. Your life is determined by your habits. If you make it a habit to write, then you are a writer. If you make it a habit to eat unhealthy foods, then you are a FAT writer.

Wish me luck! I’ve done it before and I know I can do it again. I’ll try to keep you all posted as I work through this.

1 Comment

Filed under About Me, The Writing Experience

One response to “September 15 – Writing Makes You FAT!

  1. Good luck, there’s no doubt you can do it based on your past achievements. I know what you mean about being a writer not helping. I am a software developer and writer and I find the same problem – all of my work has me sitting down all day and not being active. My hobbies also tend to require me to sit on my behind (video games, reading, movies) which certainly don’t help!

Leave a Reply

