September 26 – Jumping the Gun

For the last week I have been working on my new series, and it hasn’t been going well. The problem I am having is that I started writing part of it, and I wasn’t ready.

I knew that this was going to be a major project, and I knew that I shouldn’t do anything before I had a good plan, but I couldn’t help it. I needed to write something, and I thought that I could at least work on part of it to see where it went. So I started writing an origin story for my main characters.

It wasn’t a total failure. I did get some writing done, and in the process of writing the 600 words that I managed to get done I managed to work out some character details and a few thoughts on the plot. But overall, the story itself is faltering and I find myself fighting to get the words on the page.

This is distressing. I am used to writing “by the seat of my pants”, without an outline. This has worked reasonably well for me in the past, but it isn’t working now. Part of it is the complexity of the idea, but I think that most of it is that I realize that the idea isn’t ready. My subconscious needs more time to work out the story to make sure that it is complete in my head before I start writing it down.

So now what do I do? On the one hand I really want to keep writing. I need to finish this origin story so I know where my characters came from. Having this down will help me as I plan the rest of the series. And I need to keep writing just to make sure I stay in the habit.

On the other hand, I don’t like the story that is coming out. The prose isn’t bad, but it isn’t great either. It may not matter in the long run. I may never use it in the actual books. It may just come out in small chunks of back story during the rest of the tale.

My other option is to just drop it for now and work on something else. I have a lot of ideas that I could be working on instead, and I need to figure out what I am going to start writing for NaNoWriMo in November. If I keep working on this series I may have enough planned to start writing the first book by then. Or I could dig out a smaller concept and start plotting that instead.

Decisions, decisions….

I’m not sure as I write this what I’m going to do. I’ll probably keep working on the origin story, at least for today. I really want to have something to bring to my critique group tomorrow, and this would be the easiest thing to polish up in time to share.

In other news, my diet isn’t going well, and I need to figure out what my ROW80 goals are going to be. The next round starts next week, on October 3. I know that one of my goals is going to be to finish NaNoWriMo. I’m not sure what else I can do for October and December.

I’ll be back on Thursday for another update. Hopefully some of my plans will be more defined by then. See ya!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction, NaNoWriMo, ROW80, The Writing Experience

Leave a Reply

