October 3 – ROW80, Round 4

Welcome back!

Today marks the start of the fourth round of ROW80. I was in the first and second rounds, but skipped the third. That was probably a mistake. I missed all my friends, and my writing habits slipped. So now I’m back, and it’s just in time to get ready for NaNoWriMo.

So the first thing I suppose I need to do is lay out my goals for this round. I gave this a bit of thought over the last couple weeks, and I think I have some reasonable goals. The nice thing about ROW80 is that if the goals aren’t working out I can change them.

Goal 1: I will work on my writing every day. This will be either:

  • write at least 500 words.
  • spend at least one hour on planning or research for the story.

Goal 2: I will participate in NaNoWriMo in November. I finished early last year, and plan to finish this year too.

Goal 3: Lose at least 10 pounds by the end of this round. I will NOT using writing as an excuse to ignore my diet.

Right now I think these goals are attainable. Right now I am committed to following this plan. Right now I am dedicated to getting back to my writing so I can make progress toward getting a finished novel ready to publish. Next week I may feel differently, but I’ll deal with that when I get to it.

Last week I said I would try to have an idea ready for NaNoWriMo. I have an idea, but it is very vague and needs a lot of thought and work before I will be ready to start writing. My idea is that I will be working on a sequel to Finding Valhalla. Unfortunately, that is as far as my idea goes. I have no clues on the plot yet, but I do have a character. One of my co-workers is a 6’1″ blonde of Swedish descent, and she has volunteered to be my muse. I am trying to schedule an interview with her to get some more information on her background and personality before I start writing.

The only thoughts I have right now on the plot is that I should fashion it after one of the old Norse legends. My idea for Finding Valhalla was to tell a variation of the story of Sigurd and Brynhilde. I’m currently reading up on the old stories to see if I can find another ancient tale to use. I’m open to suggestions if any of you have some ideas.

As far as my diet goes, I haven’t lost any weight yet, but at least I didn’t go up. So while the scale didn’t give me good news, it wasn’t bad news either. I’m going to be concentrating this week on making sure that next week I’ll start a downward trend.

That’s it for today. I’ll check in again on Thursday. See you then!

4 Comments

Filed under NaNoWriMo, ROW80

4 responses to “October 3 – ROW80, Round 4

  1. Except for the fact that NaNo makes me break out in hives, my goals are much like yours. I found in the last round that the time spent researching or planning were very important; I also cannot do word counts (are we there yet? four thousand times an hour is very unproductive) which I why I avoid NaNo. I hope to lose some weight this round, too (although I was too shy to make it a goal).

    Great goals here. I’m glad you came back for this Round!

  2. Great goals. Good luck with them and I look forward to getting to know you in round 4 🙂

  3. Sia

    Even though I didn’t blog it, I have put exercise in my plan during the ROW 80 timeline as well. I want to get in at least 30 minutes twice a week, even if I just turn on the Wii and play some Wii sports or Just Dance, I’ll still be moving my body more than I would be at the computer. 🙂

Leave a Reply

