October 6 – Research Hell

Goal 1: I will work on my writing every day.

I didn’t do any writing, but I have been researching every day, trying to figure out where I am going with this new novel. And I have to say, it has been astoundingly frustrating!

I have been diligently combing through all my books on Norse mythology to try to figure out what I am going to do with this new Valkyrie story, but I’m having trouble coming up with something.

The problem is that there just isn’t that much there. The Norse mythology isn’t like the Greek or Roman legends. There is really just the one source, the Prose Edda by Snorri Sturluson. Most of it deals with the old gods, with a few pieces on some of the more exotic heroes, like Sigurd. The Valkyries are barely mentioned, with only one standing out. That one would be Brynhilde, who paired up with Sigurd.

I was thinking of rewriting my first Valkyrie book to use the legend of Sigurd and Brynhilde as the basis. That’s a good idea, but that leaves me with the question of what to do with the sequel. I can’t use the same story, because it is a different Valkyrie, with a different love interest.

I did find something about Helgi Hunding-slayer (half-brother f Sigurd) and the Valkyrie Sigrún, but my information only touches on the highlights of the story, so I don’t know if I have enough to base my story on it. I am going to need to find the whole tale before I can do more planning.

The other problem I have with my research is that I haven’t been able to get my interview scheduled yet with my “muse”. I haven’t even seen her since the day I took her picture. Hopefully I will be able to touch base with her today or tomorrow to arrange a meeting. I really want to know more about her and her dead boyfriend so I can do them both justice in my book.

Goal 2: I will participate in NaNoWriMo in November.

It’s not November, so this isn’t happening. Yet. But you can bet that it’s at the top of my mind every day!

Goal 3: Diet and exercise to lose at least 10 pounds by the end of this round.

I have been careful about what I eat, and I have walked to work the last two days instead of driving. I should get on my exercise bike too, but at least I am getting some exercise. It’s two miles from my house to my work, so that’s four miles of walking, or about an hour of total exercise. And there’s a hill in the middle, so it’s uphill both ways!

That’s all I’ve got for now. I’ll check back again on Monday. See you then!

Leave a comment

Filed under NaNoWriMo, ROW80

Leave a Reply

