October 10 – Nothing to Report

Goal 1: I will work on my writing every day.

To be honest, I’m not doing very well with this goal. I haven’t done any writing, and while I do try to spend some time every day trying to plot my NaNoWriMo story, I don’t really know what direction this story is going so I feel like I am just spinning my wheels. The good news is that I have finally managed to schedule the interview with my co-worker who will serve as my model for the main character. My wife and I will be meeting her for coffee at tomorrow night before my writing group meets. I’ll take some notes about her history and ask her what she thinks about some ideas that I have been mulling over for the last two weeks. I’m hoping that after our talk I will be ready to work out a solid outline.

Goal 2: I will participate in NaNoWriMo in November.

Again, November is still three weeks away. Nothing to report.

Goal 3: Diet and exercise to lose at least 10 pounds by the end of this round.

My diet is still stalled. I haven’t lost any weight yet, but I haven’t gained anything either. I am trying to be more careful about what I eat, but I confess that I am still dining out too much and not exercising enough.

To sum up, I feel like I have failed in all of my goals in the last week. Not a good start. Time to tighten the screws and buckle down. This is too important to me to let this lack of progress stand. If things fall apart with my interview I will take what ideas I have and start outlining something anyway. Since I won’t be able to start writing until November I will also try to take some of my other ideas and try to write at least one short story. I had an idea a couple of days ago about a convicted felon that escapes custody from an underwater train by turning into a merman. It’s a really strange idea, but I was thinking about it this morning and I have some thoughts on how it might work without being too bizarre. It will probably be a Sci-Fi story, possibly using some kind of genetic mutation to explain how he turns into a merman. I grew up reading Science Fiction, but I haven’t read much recently, so I’m not sure how it will turn out. I’ll probably just write it as a near-future story, so there shouldn’t be too much to worry about in that regard.

That’s all for now. I’ll be back on Thursday with another (hopefully better) update. Will you?

1 Comment

Filed under NaNoWriMo, ROW80

One response to “October 10 – Nothing to Report

  1. 1. It’s still early in the challenge! 🙂 I bet you’ll write something before the next check-in.

    2. November is still a couple weeks away, but some people do a bit of outlining to prep for NaNoWriMo. That’s what I’m doing this year. (I wrote last year’s NaNo by the seat of my pants, and I’m *still* revising that draft.)

    3. Congratulations on not gaining any weight. 🙂 Stay hydrated and eat only super-healthy food (with a rare “treat” so you won’t splurge). Maybe start or end each day with a walk?

    Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

