October 24 – Distractions

For the last couple weeks I have been fighting a losing battle against distractions. Between reading, Internet games, and a whole truckload of other things, I haven’t been able to get any writing done, and my planning for NaNoWriMo is stuck.

Goal 1: I will work on my writing every day.

This just isn’t happening. I managed to get through the REAMDE book by Neal Stephenson, finishing it late Saturday night. Of course, then I had to start Sex On The Moon, by Ben Mezrich. I have three other library books to read as well, but I think I will be able to renew at least two of them.

I have also been spending way too much time on the Internet recently. And, just like you would expect from the World Wide Web, none of it has been productive. Part of it is reading my Google+ stream, but I have to confess that most of it is simply wasting hours playing games on Google and Facebook. I WILL stop for NaNoWriMo. I have to. But they will be calling me from their dark corner for the whole month, whispering my name and promising me sweet diversions. What can I say? It’s an addiction.

At least there aren’t any cool movies coming out this week. I would like to see the new Three Musketeers movie, but I don’t mind waiting for it to come to the cheap theater, or even to DVD. In Time looks interesting, and Tower Heist looks like a lot of fun. There are a few movies coming out in November that I would like to see, but nothing that I can’t wait for. The next movies that I am really excited about watching will be Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows, and Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol, both coming out in December.

So that is my problem. That’s why this post is so late today. I’m trying to cut back on all the stuff distracting me from my writing, but right now it isn’t looking good.

Goal 2: I will participate in NaNoWriMo in November.

I talked about posting a review of REAMDE on my last blog entry. I’m not good at evaluating books, so don’t expect much. Essentially, I gave it three stars, which means I liked it enough to finish it, but not enough to want to read it again, and certainly not enough to qualify for Best Book of the Year. It had an interesting plot and characters, but it was simply too long. I think that there was probably quite a bit of that book that could have been cut out without affecting the story. And the marketing team that linked it so strongly to the virtual world referred to in the book should have taken a closer look at the actual story before hyping it so much. About the best I can say about it was that a gaming world was present in the book. The story, however, was primarily set in the real world, so there was really no reason to make such a big deal of the game on the cover blurb.

Goal 3: Diet and exercise to lose at least 10 pounds by the end of this round.

Still no progress on the diet, and the exercise bike is gathering dust. The good news is that my wife has also committed to cutting back on the high-calorie foods, so hopefully we will both be able to start losing weight soon.

I’ll check in again on Thursday. I’m trying to think of a topic. Maybe I should go over my basic outline for my NaNoWriMo novel. That will give me some more incentive to actually finish it before then!

1 Comment

Filed under Fiction, NaNoWriMo, ROW80

One response to “October 24 – Distractions

  1. WordPress has a really good thing going on right now: Post A Day 2011. It’s basically a pledge to post a blog entry every day. It gets you writing every day, even if it’s just a little snippet of something. It’s a start in the right direction.

    I also recommend 750words.com. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s a site that encourages you to write 750 words (about three pages) every day. It keeps track of your word count while you write, and it also keeps track of how many days you write. I actually feel a bit guilty if I miss a day, but sometimes that’s how it goes. It’s a great tool for practicing for NaNoWriMo.

    Hope this helped!

Leave a Reply

