October 31 – Things are Getting Scary!

Today is Halloween, which means that NaNoWriMo starts tomorrow. I’M NOT READY!

Goal 1: I will work on my writing every day.

I tried working on my outline over the weekend, and have yet to get past the halfway point. As a matter of fact, I tossed out most of what I was planning and started over because I didn’t think it was good enough to keep the reader’s interest and keep the story moving.

My plan now is still to start with a car chase, as Nicole goes after the speeding Kari and Michelle (my ill-fated Valkyrie). She is going to catch them when they lose control and arrest them. On the way back though she will have to stop to deal with Matt, her boyfriend. This is an important change, because in the first draft of my outline I didn’t introduce him until after the first plot point. Considering that this is meant to be a paranormal ROMANCE I thought it might be a good idea to bring him in earlier.

So while she is dealing with Matt, the two troublemakers are stealing her patrol car. She will commandeer Matt’s car to chase them down, catching up to them in a state park. They run into the woods and she follows them. They meet a giant and she follows her police training and tries to arrest everybody. A fight follows and the giant takes out the Valkyrie. Nicole picks up the fallen woman’s spear in self-defense and the giant impales himself on it. Once the giant is dead, the goddess Freya will appear and give Nicole the powers of a Valkyrie.

This is a fairly good start, but it also leaves some questions that I have to answer in order to make sure I know where I am headed. Otherwise I will be leaving gaping plot holes and the story will suck!

  1. How did Kari and Michelle know that the giant was going to be there?
  2. What was the giant doing there?

There are probably more questions that I will need to deal with, but those are the biggest ones. If you have questions you would like answered, leave a comment and I’ll try to work it in to the story.

Goal 2: I will participate in NaNoWriMo in November.

Just a few more hours before we start. And I have to deal with Trick-or-Treaters for the next two hours. And Castle is on tonight. That doesn’t leave a lot of time to finish my outline!

We’re having a local kickoff meeting tomorrow night instead of our normal critique group. Zombie Joe has made arrangements for a meeting hall and we’ll be getting together after work to get some writing done. I’m hoping we will be able to do more actual writing tomorrow night than we did at the kickoff meeting last year. These things tend to be more about the chat and less about putting the Hands on the Keyboard. And I REALLY want to finish again this year. I haven’t done much writing in the last several months and I need to get back in the habit.

Goal 3: Diet and exercise to lose at least 10 pounds by the end of this round.

The scale is still not my friend. I haven’t lost any weight yet. On the positive side, I haven’t gained anything either, so at least I’m not getting worse. And unfortunately, the write-ins of NaNoWriMo are usually not diet-friendly, since they tend to be focused on ingesting large quantities of caffeine and sugar. I don’t do the caffeine, but I can’t resist the coffee cake and a Ventí Caramel Apple Spice when we meet at Starbucks.

This month is going to be a struggle, but I’m hoping to come out on the other side with another finished first draft. And I’m still hoping that this draft will suck less than the mess I wrote last year.

I’ll continue to keep posting on Mondays and Thursdays with my progress, but don’t expect a lot of deep thoughts as I will be concentrating more on my word count for my book than my blog. If I get into trouble I’ll be sure to post it here, and hopefully one of my faithful readers will have some helpful advice.

Thanks for sticking with me for this. Wish me luck!

3 Comments

Filed under Fiction, NaNoWriMo, ROW80

3 responses to “October 31 – Things are Getting Scary!

  1. Ryan King

    Not Ready. Not Set. Go! Hehe. Your plans sound like mine. WIP. Trick-or-Treaters. Castle. Enjoy your last few hours of “freedom” and good luck with NaNo!

  2. Good luck with Nano. I’m passing on it this year, but my husband told me today he was thinking of trying it. Unofficially. (not signing up) I’ve been trying to encourage him to write more since he comes up with great ideas, so I thought this was awesome. We’ll see how it goes.

  3. More than luck! Here’s hoping today went extra well for you. Kudos on your brave perseverence!

Leave a Reply

