November 3 – NaNoWriMo Begins!

Two days down for NaNoWriMo, and things aren’t going well.

Goal 1: I will work on my writing every day.

About 1500 words on Tuesday and 1800 on Wednesday. This is good, and has me on schedule for NaNoWriMo, but there’s a problem.

All that work I did on my outline was good, and got me off to a good start. The problem is that I’m only two days into NaNoWriMo and I’ve already hit section five on the outline. According to my plan I should be at over 5000 words, but I’m only at 3600. At this rate I’m going to finish what I had planned for the first section by the end of day tomorrow. My only hope is to work on expanding some of the scenes and give more detail and description. This is something I need to work on anyway, but I’m not sure it is something I can do in the frenzy of November.

I knew I was going to end up flying by the seat of my pants at some point this month. I just didn’t think it was going to be this soon.

Goal 2: I will participate in NaNoWriMo in November.

The kickoff meeting was a big success in that about twenty people showed up. Unfortunately, it failed me in that I didn’t get enough writing done to make the quota for the day. I made it up last night, but only because I was able to skip the regular Wednesday D&D Encounters game and work on my writing. I wrote a little bit this morning too, so I am currently at 3600 words. I don’t have any plans that will conflict with my writing tonight or tomorrow so I am hoping to make enough progress to get a little bit ahead of the game.

Goal 3: Diet and exercise to lose at least 10 pounds by the end of this round.

Between the tons of candy left over from Halloween and the brownies and cupcakes at the NaNoWriMo kickoff meeting I am not sure I even want to know what is happening with my scale. I was telling people that chocolate fuels creativity. I need to start telling myself that it also makes you fat.

I’ll be back on Monday with another update on my progress. See you then!

1 Comment

Filed under Fiction, NaNoWriMo, ROW80

One response to “November 3 – NaNoWriMo Begins!

  1. Sounds to me like you’re making quite a bit of progress. Those word counts are nothing to sniff at. Good luck with NaNoWriMo and ROW 80! 🙂

Leave a Reply

