November 7 – Trying to Get the Wheels in Motion

One week into NaNoWriMo and I’m still struggling.

Goal 1: I will work on my writing every day.

As I write this, I have 10,419 words on my NaNoWriMo story. I am finding it very difficult to get enough words every day to meet my goal. Last night I ended the day with less than 10,000 words. I need to write at least another 1250 words by the end of tonight in order to stay on schedule.

The problem seems to be that I’m just not that excited by the story. Part of me feels that I have already written this story, even though I am trying to make this one something different than what I wrote for Finding Valhalla. I’m using mostly new characters, although some of the original ones are making their appearances here. I’m also making this story come before the other one in the timeline of the series. I even made the Valkyrie a normal girl who receives her powers as part of the story. So if there are all these differences between the two stories, why do I still feel like I’m repeating myself?

Goal 2: I will participate in NaNoWriMo in November.

My wife and I went to Culvers on Friday. I did some writing and we had the fish dinner. I invited others in the area to come and join me, but it was last minute notice and nobody showed up. On Saturday I went to Cool Beans on the east side and met with Zombie Joe and Jesi, along with a few others. I got all my writing done for the day while we were there, which was good. Joe is making me feel bad though, because he has almost twice the word count that I do.

Goal 3: Diet and exercise to lose at least 10 pounds by the end of this round.

The last week was bad. I got on the scale this morning and found I have gained five pounds over the last week. Not good. I only had a banana for breakfast, and I swore that I am going to be better at watching my diet for the rest of the year.

I’ll see you again on Thursday with another NaNoWriMo update! If you are participating, good luck and keep writing. If you aren’t, why not?

4 Comments

Filed under Fiction, NaNoWriMo, ROW80

4 responses to “November 7 – Trying to Get the Wheels in Motion

  1. Congrats on your goals! Don’t worry too much about repeating yourself, and if you’re bored, just throw in some random situation and see how your characters react! Even if you delete it in the edit, it’ll hopefully get you fueled and ready to continue.

    Best of luck!

  2. Hmm . . My NaNo is a bit similar in theme and protagonist characterization to a previous novel of mine, but I think there are enough differences to make it an unrelated story. Do your re-visited characters have new goals and character arcs? Have they matured?

    10,419 words sound good to me so far. Just keep chugging. šŸ™‚

    And good luck getting your diet goals back on track. Burn extra calories with marathon typing sessions. lol

  3. Hmm . . My NaNo is a bit similar in theme and protagonist characterization to a previous novel of mine, but I think there are enough differences to make it an unrelated story. Do your re-visited charaters have new goals and character arcs? Have they matured?

    10,419 words sounds good to me so far. Just keep chugging. šŸ™‚

    And good luck getting your diet goals back on track. Burn extra calories with marathon typing sessions. lol

  4. Ryan King

    Sadly, this is the first year since 2006 that I haven’t done NaNo. My schedule is just too crazy for NaNo this year. Sorry about the diet stuff and don’t feel bad about his word count. Everyone writes at different speeds. 2 of my 4 MLs for my region already have 50k. Everyone else is right there with you. Don’t compare yourself to others. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

