November 10 – Staying in Motion

The best thing I can say about NaNoWriMo this year is that I am staying on schedule.

Goal 1: I will work on my writing every day.

I’m still plugging along on my Valkyrie story. I’m past the first plot point and right now I am writing about how she is being trained to understand and use her new powers. I brought in Miranda, the Valkyrie from my first story, as a trainer. I used this as an opportunity to have her tell Nicole a little about how she got her powers, which was a short story I wrote several months ago as a writing exercise.

And no, I didn’t copy and paste. I reread my original short story and had Miranda tell Nicole the Cliff Notes version through dialogue. It was all new prose.

Goal 2: I will participate in NaNoWriMo in November.

I fell behind on Sunday, got farther behind on Monday, but managed to catch up on Tuesday and stay ahead on Wednesday. My current word count is 15,092. I don’t have anything to keep me from writing until Monday, so I am going to try to see if I can get enough down to get me ahead of schedule. I would like at least two days worth of cushion so I don’t have to worry about not being able to finish on time.

Goal 3: Diet and exercise to lose at least 10 pounds by the end of this round.

I got on the scale again this morning, even though I normally only weigh myself on Mondays. I am down one pound from Monday, but that probably isn’t due so much to actual weight loss as to normal fluctuations. And of course, the cafeteria at work is having their annual Thanksgiving dinner today. There will be tons of food for only $6.50, which is a deal I just can’t pass up. I had a light breakfast, and I’m planning to take an extra dinner home to share with my wife. I will also try to control myself and maybe not clean my plate at lunch time. That way I will have more food to take home and won’t feel so guilty.

Tune in again on Monday for another exciting NaNoWriMo update! Same NaNo time, same NaNo station!

2 Comments

Filed under Fiction, NaNoWriMo, ROW80

2 responses to “November 10 – Staying in Motion

  1. You’re doing a great job, clicking toward your goals a step at a time. This part is the hard part. In between the “yea, we’re off to see the wizard” and the “light at the end of the tunnel.” It’s “gut it out” time! Keep up the good work!

  2. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again–no word written is ever wasted as long as you learn from it. Sounds like you’re doing great–keep it up!

Leave a Reply

