November 14 – Catching Fire

Things are starting to improve. And I should get my new Kindle Fire by the end of the week. 🙂

Goal 1: I will work on my writing every day.

I still don’t know how this dance is going to end, but at least I’m starting to feel the rhythm. Thanks to the effort (and it has definitely been an effort) that I have put into NaNoWriMo this year, my writing is beginning to get a little easier. I still can’t keep up with Zombie Joe, but at least the gap is closing.

I am bringing in the back story as a plot point, and I introduced two new Valkyries. Someday I may write their story as well. The series is all about the women and the guys who love them, so all the characters I bring in have their own story to tell. The problem is finding out what those stories are.

In case you were wondering, the first one is named Jeanne, and she is a French-Canadian living in Toronto. The second is named Sierra, and she is a biker chick in Fargo, North Dakota. If you have any ideas for their story, I’m open to suggestions.

Goal 2: I will participate in NaNoWriMo in November.

Thanks to some weekend marathon writing sessions at the local coffee shops, I have not only caught up with the NaNoWriMo schedule, but I am actually a day ahead. My current word count is 23,439. I’m going to try to stay ahead, and maybe even get a little more cushion for “just in case”.

Goal 3: Diet and exercise to lose at least 10 pounds by the end of this round.

Thanks to the Thanksgiving dinner at work last week and the snacks I enjoyed at the coffee shops, I am more likely to gain 10 pounds by the end of the month. I keep saying I am going to buckle down and be better at keeping the calorie intake down, but so far it isn’t happening. I am thinking of getting out my old pants again, or buying new ones. The ones I have been wearing just keep getting tighter. 😦

I am still going to try to lose weight this month, but I’m not going to get too upset if it doesn’t happen. I was also hoping to be back to 200 pounds by my birthday in January, but that is definitely out of the question. But I will still have it as a goal for next year, and hopefully by the time NaNoWriMo rolls around in 2012 I will be back in fighting trim.

I shall return on Thursday for another update on the life of a writer. See you soon!

2 Comments

Filed under Fiction, NaNoWriMo, ROW80

2 responses to “November 14 – Catching Fire

  1. Way to go on the word count! Woo-Hoo! Sometimes getting a chunk of uninterrupted time really does the trick.

    Boy, do I hear you on the weight loss. After trying to convince myself that my pants were shrinking in the dryer, I had to admit that I was growing instead, and not taller! I did lose some weight this week, but more due to a massive asthma attack/cold, not to any superior willpower. It’s a worthy goal, so I’ll be cheering you on.

    Kindle Fire, eh? I’m ordering one with my next paycheck–cannot wait. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of it.

    Have a great week!

  2. Congratulations! Always good to keep up with NaNo.

    As for Backstory As Plotpoint: that’s one of the advantages of mystery — backstory is always a plot point. (Or maybe that’s a disadvantage, since I’m wrestling with all the tricky little details in my own now.)

    Good luck on your weight loss. I suppose technically, doing something to live longer (and thus have more time to write) is more important than writing. But I just can’t see it so.

Leave a Reply

