December 12 – Working Toward the End

I’m still pushing on, trying to wrap things up by the end of the year.

Goal 1: I will work on my writing every day.

Mission accomplished. I managed to write something every day. Not a lot, but at least I wrote something. I focused a lot of time on catching up on my reading, and managed to read four books over the weekend. Now I’m back to being ahead of schedule on the Goodreads challenge and should have no problem finishing on time.

Goal 2: I will participate in NaNoWriMo in November.

My story is up to 52,715 words now, and I’m working on the final confrontation with the villain. I know I need to write a fight scene, and I don’t think that will be a problem, but I’m struggling with the buildup to the actual battle. I think it’s important to set the right mood for this, and I’m not sure what I’m doing is working.

It’s hard to transition from a wedding to a fight. I made the choice to go directly from the wedding, so the bride will still be wearing her wedding dress during the battle. I know it has been done before, but I couldn’t resist. Besides, it makes it easier to drag the groom along with her if he doesn’t give her a chance to ditch him. But I’m still not sure if it was the right thing to do.

Maybe I shouldn’t worry so much about it and just get to the fight already. After all, that’s what editing is for, right?

Do any of you have any tips on the best ways to work up the tension towards a final confrontation? Or anything you want to share about your own struggles with this?

Goal 3: Diet and exercise to lose at least 10 pounds by the end of this round.

I went to my church Christmas party on Saturday and ate too much. I had two plates full of salad, scalloped potatoes, and ham. I did make sure that the salad covered half of each plate, so I tried to at least make some good choices. But I should have stopped with one plate.

Despite the indulgence, I managed to lose some weight over the last week. I guess walking to work every day is paying off. I am planning to walk almost every day this week as well, even though the weather forecast is pretty dreary.

I won’t be walking tomorrow, though. Tomorrow I’ve got a potluck at work. I’ll be bringing pumpkin bars for my contribution. I am going to try to restrain myself, but I’m not making any promises. We’ll see what the scale has to say next week to find out the damage.

I hope you are all having a good time this holiday season, and wish you the best of luck in your writing efforts!

Leave a comment

Filed under About Me, Fiction, NaNoWriMo, ROW80

Leave a Reply

