December 15 – Fight Scenes

I’m fighting to keep going on my book.

Goal 1: I will work on my writing every day.

I missed another day. Last night I planned on doing some writing after our weekly Dungeons & Dragons game. The game was actually cancelled, so I got home early. And what did I do? I picked up a book instead of sat down to write. I thought I would read for just a little while, then do my writing.

Then I fell asleep on the couch.

By the time I woke up, it was past my bed time. I could have done a little writing before bed, but I was so beat the thought didn’t even cross my mind. So no new words last night.

Goal 2: I will participate in NaNoWriMo in November.

Despite my failure last night, I have managed to write on the other days, so my word count is now 53,743. The fight scene is right around the corner, and I think I’m ready for it. The last thing I wrote was that the villain (a giant sea serpent) is hovering over our heroine, dripping water everywhere.

I have written several fight scenes in the past, and I never had much problem with them. My NaNoWriMo story last year had at least three major battles in it, and I used to like writing them. As a matter of fact, it got to the point where if I wanted to boost my word count I would throw in a battle, which would practically guarantee an easy thousand or so words.

I don’t know why the fight scenes are so easy for me. Maybe it’s because I can visualize each move of the battle. Maybe it’s because it’s mostly action and reaction. One thing leads directly to another. The hero punches the villain, he punches back. In this case, the villain drips on the heroine, she pulls out her spear.

But jumping straight into combat isn’t what I’m doing here. This needs to be a little more than just a fight to the death. This is, after all, the finale.

What I’m looking to do here is start a conversation between our two combatants before they start trying to kill each other. She is supposed to be a police officer in the normal world, and in my mind the main job of the Valkyrie is to keep order in the supernatural world. So even though this monster killed her father, she has a duty to negotiate with it before resorting to violence. So my main concern now is showing that internal conflict before I get to the external one.

Don’t worry, there will be blood. And death. And lots of pain. But the pain needs to be both physical and mental, or it won’t be a strong enough scene.

How do you feel about fight scenes? Have you ever written one? Was it easy for you, or hard?

Goal 3: Diet and exercise to lose at least 10 pounds by the end of this round.

The potluck was everything I expected it to be. Tons of food, a lot of which ended up on my plates.

Yes, that was plural. I had way too much to eat. Stuffed to the gills and crying for mercy.

I tried to make up for it by not eating breakfast before it started. I also skipped dinner afterwards. And breakfast the following day. I’m not sure how effective that was, but I’m hoping to at least stay even when I get on the scale next Monday. I do have a family dinner to go to on Sunday, but those usually aren’t quite as bad as the potlucks at work.

I’ll be back with another update on Monday. The first day of my vacation! Woohoo!

2 Comments

Filed under About Me, Fiction, NaNoWriMo, ROW80

2 responses to “December 15 – Fight Scenes

  1. Regarding your first goal, I totally understand how the time gets away. I’m queen of procrastination. I’m also queen of another town called Beating Myself Up That I’ve Been Avoiding Writing. I live in a strange world, huh?

    I guess that’s writing for you so don’t feel alone on that point!

  2. You really have this formula down! Maybe fight scenes are easy for you because you really know your characters and their motivations so well.
    Aside from the physical movements which you are obviously comfortable with, you have a unique understanding of the characters and what they feel they have to do. This was Cool, thank you for putting it up here!

Leave a Reply

