December 19 – Getting Stuck

I don’t know what to do. So I’m not doing anything. 😦

Goal 1: I will work on my writing every day.

I missed Saturday. And Sunday. And so far I haven’t written anything today. Not good.

I could make excuses by saying that I haven’t been feeling well. I woke up on Friday with a sore throat. Not a great way to end my last week of work before my vacation. I felt a little better by Sunday, at least enough to go to church and a family Christmas dinner, but right now I feel awful. I’m going to try to get some more writing done tonight, but to be honest, I’m not looking forward to it.

Goal 2: I will participate in NaNoWriMo in November.

My word count is now 54,317. Not a lot done since last time. As a matter of fact, the last time I wrote anything (on Friday) I only added 56 words.

The reason I haven’t written anything is because I think I’m stuck.

I know. On my last post I said I was fine with doing fight scenes. And yet, I don’t know where I’m going with this one.

I think the main problem is that I tried to get in some conversation before the weapons came out. It’s a lot different writing a battle when there is a reason for the fighting.

When I was writing the fights in my first story, it was easy. One side was a bunch of demons whose only motivation was death and destruction. The other side was the heroes trying mainly to survive. My second story was another Valkyrie story, but the fights were also pretty simple. She was fighting against a werebear, whose main motivation was simply to kill her and her friends.

So now I have a fight with a Valkyrie and a giant sea serpent, but the monster isn’t just out to kill her. It has a secret plan, and it also has the added advantage of knowing that she has the restrictions of law and order to keep her from simply attacking it, even when she knows it is guilty. So I have to somehow make her either lose control and attack first, or make the villain do something to provoke her into attacking him.

The thing I wanted to use for the provocation is the death of her new husband. The trouble is I don’t really know how to get him involved. He is on the boat, but he isn’t on the deck with her. And with the size of the monster I really doubt he would be stupid enough to attack it on his own.

So until I figure out how to bring him in I really don’t know how to go any farther.

Anybody have any ideas?

Goal 3: Diet and exercise to lose at least 10 pounds by the end of this round.

The scale was not my friend again this morning.

I usually only weigh myself once a week, but I’m tempted to try again on Thursday morning, before my next post. Maybe if I am careful and get on my exercise bike (another thing I haven’t done today) I might be able to have some good news on that front by then.

I know this is my vacation, but I swore I was going to be doing some writing during these two weeks off, so I really need to stop screwing around and get my butt in the chair! I’ll let you know how it goes in a few days.

2 Comments

Filed under About Me, Fiction, NaNoWriMo, ROW80

2 responses to “December 19 – Getting Stuck

  1. A pre-game skirmish? A scrimmage? Then it escalates. Good luck!

  2. no good on fights so cant help except to say maybe if you leave it till the new round and let it ferment at back of mind over festivities inspiration might leap up and down in excitment – i find that works a lot when I’m stuck

    all the best hope you find the spark in the meantime get well and enjoy the festivities

Leave a Reply

