Off to a Slow Start

Not much to report since Sunday. I started off with a short prologue (733 words) that I completed on Sunday, and then started Chapter 1 on Monday. I only managed about 600 words total over the last three days. Not a great beginning to this project, but since I am giving myself three months to complete it I’m still pretty confident.

I’m not sure why I am having so much trouble getting started. I know exactly where I want to go with this, but I’m not feeling it yet. Maybe it’s the third person viewpoint that is throwing me off. I kind of wish I could go back to first person, but with four main characters that really wouldn’t be a good idea.

Maybe the problem is that I’m trying to introduce two different characters here (the two boys) and since I started from the viewpoint of one of them I’m not sure how to introduce the other one. I’m also introducing the setting (a summer camp) and since I haven’t been there the description is really rough.

Or maybe the problem is that these kids are supposed to be delinquent or disturbed in some way, and while I was plenty disturbed growing up, I never was a delinquent. Somehow I need to get into the mindset of a bully who lets his unbridled anger speak for him. And yet make him into a hero by the end of the book. This is going to be tough.

I still have time yet today to get some more writing done. I’m hoping to at least hit 1000 words for Chapter 1 by the end of the day. Wish me luck, and I’ll check in again on Sunday to let you know how it went.

2 Comments

Filed under ROW80, The Writing Experience

2 responses to “Off to a Slow Start

  1. Don’t get yourself too down over the slow start, I think a lot of us spend the first week or so of the round finding our feet and figuring out what works for us. Good luck with it, I hope you find a way into your characters’ heads!

  2. Your work in progress sounds most intriguing. I have to know a character’s back story ( little of which ever appears in the novel it seems). In writing out their back stories, I understand how they fit within the novel. Sometimes, back story also helps me determine point of view, if I’m having difficulty with it. The best to you in this round.

    Karen

Leave a Reply

