Getting Back Up to Speed

Sometimes things come up that might keep you from writing. Other times you might just need to take a break. In either case, getting back in the flow can be a scary proposition, and the longer you wait before you return to the chair, the harder it gets.

In my case, I took a long break from writing earlier this year, and just resumed writing on July 1. It was hard, but I knew that I needed to do it and I thought I was ready.

Then I sat down, and man, was it tough.

The last time I wrote anything, the words flowed easily, and it was no big deal getting over 1000 words in a day. Now, however, it can be difficult to manage 250. But I’m trying!

When I started writing again on the first of the month, I promised myself I would try to do at least some writing every day. I wasn’t concerned about how much it was going to be, but I did want to have the book finished by the end of September and Round 3. I managed to keep that promise for the first week, but I fell off the wagon when I took my vacation last week. Making the decision to rewrite the first chapter made things even worse, and the end result is that after almost three weeks I only have 8100 words down. Somehow, I need to write another 12,000 words by the end of the month in order to stay on track. That’s going to be tough, requiring that I write about 1000 words per day. And my latest efforts have come up short for that goal.

So that’s the bad news. The good news is that I still think I can do it. I’m pretty confident that the more I write, the easier it will be to get my butt in the chair and get the words on the page. It may be tough, but I’ve completed NaNoWriMo twice now, so I think it’s something that I can accomplish.

How about you? Have you ever struggled to get back in the habit of writing after taking a break? Do you have any tips for me on how to meet my goals? I would love to hear from you.

All right, that’s all for the day. Time to start working on my book instead of this blog. I’ll check in again on Sunday, so come back then and I’ll fill you in on how my rewrite went and what the next stages are for my book.

3 Comments

Filed under ROW80, The Writing Experience

3 responses to “Getting Back Up to Speed

  1. Hunter

    Wow, that is tough. I’ve only just got into a proper writing (editing) routine on a 5 daily basis, after jerking around with some gaps in my writing, so understand the difficulty on starting back into it. I don’t really have anything helpful to add – I’ve been known to do 10K days on and off, but I can put aside a day for that. Wishing you the best on your own goals.

  2. Yes, I’ve certainly struggled to get into writing regularly again after being away from it for an extended period of time and I found it tough. For me, when I’ve been away from projects, it’s like they’ve grown cold and it takes me a while get the energy flowing and to warm them up again…Now, if I could just get myself back into the routine of regularly going to the gym!

Leave a Reply

