When All Else Fails, Kill Somebody

Quick update: I reached my goal of 20,000 words by the end of July. Actually, I hit it on Sunday, July 29. My word count for Monday and Tuesday was just gravy on top.

All right, now I can fill you in on my story so far. My kids have returned from the Cabin of Death, and are trying to figure out what to do about both the killer and their awesome new powers. I’ll go over some highlights here:

Cailin hasn’t done much with her speed yet, but she is having fun with the telekinesis power. The super vision is coming in handy too, but she has only used it a couple of times so far. Once to see across the miles between the camp and the cabin, and another time to read the day’s schedule from the bulletin board across the room. So it gives her the ability to see very far away, as well as x-ray vision. She reported that she saw the bones of dozens of victims at the bottom of the outhouse pit.

Carter has now found out that not only does he have super strength, but he is also invulnerable to physical harm. Fire doesn’t hurt him, but other types of damage have not been tried yet. He’s getting kind of cocky.

Lisa has been quiet. She has already shown her rapid healing ability, but nothing else. I have hinted at her telepathy, but haven’t revealed it to the other kids yet. I’m considering having her start cutting herself, since she would be able to heal almost instantly from those types of wounds. I’m also thinking she may not want to tell people she can read their minds, because she is afraid they will reject her once they find out.

Andy’s increased intelligence is turning him into the de facto leader of the group, a role he isn’t sure about just yet. And after a couple of bullies threw a Frisbee at his head, he reacted by knocking them both on their asses with a psychic energy blast. I’m about to have him try it again on Carter. I haven’t decided yet whether or not it will hurt him. I have also dropped a hint that he has some precognitive ability, or at least a “Spidey-sense” that will tell him when he is in impending danger.

All of this is mainly intended to fill space while building the story to its conclusion. It only serves to show how the kids are learning to use their powers and function as a team. But to be honest, even I think it is a little bit boring. So what can I do about it?

As the title of this post says, sometimes the best thing you can do to liven up your story is to kill someone off.  In this case, I’m going to make the cop that was with them at the cabin disappear. I had originally planned for the killer to take her out at the cabin in front of the kids, but since I decided to change that, it leaves it open for me to take her out while they’re at camp. I’m not sure how I’m going to reveal her death to the kids, but it will probably involve Cailin’s super vision.

So that’s where I am. I’ll post another update on Sunday. Keep in touch!

2 Comments

Filed under ROW80, The Writing Experience

2 responses to “When All Else Fails, Kill Somebody

  1. I’m tired. It took me a whole paragraph to figure out that your “kids” are your characters lol!

  2. It sounds like your characters are very real, despite their special abilities. Good stuff! All the best as you continue to work out the details. Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

