Character Relationships

At the time of writing this blog post, I have reached 30,041 words in my story. That’s halfway to my goal of 60,000 words by the end of September. The story is progressing, even though I’m not exactly sure where I’m going next.

The last several thousand words have been mostly about character development, particularly with how the kids feel about each other. Andy and Lisa have become a definite couple, while Carter and Cailin are still struggling.

The obstacles that Andy and Lisa struggled with were Lisa’s telepathy and Andy’s lack of experience with any form of relationship. How do you deal with someone who can read your mind? Andy has to accept that he will never be able to have any secrets from Lisa. His mind is literally an open book to her. And there are things about himself that he is ashamed of, things that she wouldn’t want to know. So Lisa has to somehow explain that she understands and she’s okay with it. And she has to do it in a way that helps him to accept her in his life, and shows him that she wants to be by his side.

Carter and Cailin, meanwhile, are fighting again. They had a good moment on the beach while Carter was rubbing suntan lotion on her back, but then he blew it when they went swimming and he untied her top. As you might guess, she was less than happy with his antics. So now he has to get her cornered so he has a chance to offer an apology. If he tries to approach her while she’s alone she would just use her super speed to run away from him, because right now he’s on her last nerve.

Andy and Lisa will probably have to get involved before Carter and Cailin manage to work things through. While I would like to have each of the couples in a solid relationship by the end of the book, the way things have been going with those two I’m just not sure if it will work out. Which is weird, because their personalities have turned out to be complete opposites of how they were supposed to be.

Carter was supposed to be a sullen, angry teen, ready for a fight at a moment’s notice. He has turned out to be a wise-cracking prankster, more interested in getting into Cailin’s pants than having a serious relationship. Cailin was supposed to be a perky cheerleader type, and she turned out to be the more serious of the two. She is also the one more liable to snap and beat someone (usually Carter) over the head with a large rock.

For now I’m just letting them do what they have been doing. After I finish I’ll have to decide whether or not to edit it back to the original plan or to simply leave it as is. It all depends on how I feel about the finished work. It’s going to be a big job to edit all of their interactions so far either way, because leaving it would mean changing their back stories to something that would better fit their personalities.

I guess what matters in the end is whether or not the characters are believable and the reader feels a connection to them. And right now I feel good about the writing, so I’ll let it go until that changes.

I think I need to shake things up again, so I think that after the kids have lunch I’ll bring the cops in to find the dead counselor. That will spread a little chaos and mayhem in the camp and raise a concern about having someone find out about their powers. Also, someone suggested something to me yesterday that has got me thinking about another way to cause trouble. Since the kids got their powers from the MREs, an option that I have is that they have to continue to eat them in order to sustain their powers. And since they don’t have ready access to them they could end up confronting the killer without that advantage.

I’ll have to think about that some more. In the meantime, I’ll keep writing. Check in again on Wednesday for another update.

1 Comment

Filed under ROW80, The Writing Experience

One response to “Character Relationships

  1. It’s fascinating how characters grow and change as you write them. It sounds like you’re having fun with your “imaginary friends” (as I have called them). Congrats on reaching the half point. Hope the rest of your ROW80 goes great!

Leave a Reply

