Planning for the Future

I am still working on my YA story, and last night I hit 42,000 words. But today I thought I should start getting some thoughts down for my next project, which needs to be ready in time for NaNoWriMo.

In case you missed it, my next story is going to be about a civil war or revolution (what is the difference?) here in America. The things that the Republican Taliban Tea Party have been trying to push through are disgusting and wrong, and have me seriously concerned about the direction my country is headed. So, like any author worth his salt, I decided I need to write a story about it.

Of course, the story is going to be anything but normal. I’m partial to writing urban fantasy, so my story is going to be about how the evil Republicans have made a pact with the dark forces in order to win the election, and now the monsters and demons are starting to come out to play. I’m going to bring in my Valkyrie forces from my earlier books, as well as the wizard and his dragon from my first NaNoWriMo story. They will have to fight the demons and bring the country back to the side of good.

Sounds good, right? The question is, how to make it great?

I thought that the first thing I should do is start making a list of all the funny business the Tea Party has on the Republican platform and how it would affect the country if they win and start pushing it through. Things like the cuts to education, which would put most of our kids into a position where they won’t be able to get a decent job. Or the union busting, which opens the way for the elimination of the minimum wage and child labor laws. These things together would likely result in most of America becoming nothing but slaves to the big corporations. Think of history, and the “company store” that coal miners had to put up with. They would work all day for a company and come home owing more back to the company than they brought home. It was a vicious cycle that took the combined efforts of unions and the government to end. I don’t want to end up like that.

So today I am going to try to get my writing done as usual, but I am also going to work on starting my list (I have a little list, they’ll never be missed). For now I’m just going to compile the atrocities on their platform, later I’ll work on putting my thoughts down on what will happen if they get enacted.

Feel free to comment if you have any thoughts on the matter. The issues that concern me the most are the war on women and the destruction of our public education system. What are yours? Do the plans of the Tea Party give you nightmares like mine?

As usual, I’ll be back on Sunday with another update. See you then!

4 Comments

Filed under NaNoWriMo, Politics, ROW80, The Writing Experience

4 responses to “Planning for the Future

  1. Sounds like a great project! I’ll be watching to see what you come up with….and here’s MY ROW 80 CHECK-IN POST

  2. Pingback: The Sunshine Award | mrsbongle

  3. Congratulations! I’ve nominated you for the Sunshine Award! http://mrsbongle.com/2012/08/30/the-sunshine-award/

  4. I think I commented in your last post on this topic, but I really think this should be a wonderful activity.

    I lean Democratic, but am firmly independent. I’m with you that some of the activities of the Republicans are questionable. I wish I could believe that the Democratic Party’s actions were any more rationally founded, but I’m not so sure anymore.

    As for suggestions, I’d be inclined to add some conjectured details about the Republican politicians’ errors in judgment the past few years as dark-power-motivated events (for instance, congressmen hooking up with young men, etc.)

    To really put a twist on things (or maybe not, depending on how you’re intending to go ahead with this plot) you could have the Republicans believe they’re actually receiving divine information from God, and truly believe that what they’re doing and saying is what God wants for America, but have them be deceived by the dark powers instead, manipulated into the tragedy of the current political crisis.

    I wish you the best of luck on this project. Keep us in the loop!

Leave a Reply

