Wrapping It Up

I’m over 55,000 words now, and I’m trying to wrap things up. Unfortunately, it isn’t going as smoothly as I had hoped. I may hit 60,000 words yet. Of course, that would mean that I dragged the ending on for over 10,000 words, but I can fix it in edits, right?

My problem is that now that the serial killer is dead, I have to deal with the consequences of that act. Carter is in handcuffs, waiting for the DA to arrive and decide whether or not they should press charges. Meanwhile, Andy met Lisa’s parents and Cailin is trying to resolve her feelings for Carter and what he did for her.

I think the next step should be to bring the DA in and see what happens. If he decides he wants to arrest Carter, the group may show their powers after all and fly away, leaving everyone behind to find somewhere else to live and start their lives as super heroes.

Otherwise, if he lets Carter go, then the group would have to split up as the camp ends and everyone is sent back home. It won’t be hard for them to keep in touch, given Cailin’s speed and Lisa’s four-way telepathy link.

I’m not sure what’s going to happen yet, but I’ll let you know when I figure it out.

That’s it for today. Just this short update because I’ve got a busy day today and I need to spend my time on writing. See you again on Sunday!

5 Comments

Filed under ROW80, The Writing Experience

5 responses to “Wrapping It Up

  1. It’s really interesting to see your story devloping, this is a great idea! 🙂

  2. I don’t think a longer story is necessarily a bad thing, unless you have a specific reason for sticking to a word count. That being said, I’ve spent the last month cutting down my own story from 121k to 100k. I did have a reason — YA novels are supposed to be under 100k. Is there a similar constraint for mystery/serial killer stories?

    • There isn’t any limit that I know of. And my word count goal is just something I set for myself, not anything based on industry standards. Thanks for your comments though. I appreciate any input you guys give me.

  3. You could always throw in a twist in the end that the serial killer wasn’t a serial killer at all, but a time-travelling, shape shifting alien who impersonated Elvis in his free time…

  4. Glad your progress is going so well. Good luck on figuring out the ending.

    Peace,
    Morgan

Leave a Reply

