The Best Laid Plans…

… often fail due to the procrastination of the guy in charge.

I still haven’t finished my summary. I have gotten farther, but it certainly isn’t done. It is a little over 2,600 words right now, and I have at least hit the turning point of the story, where the hero has had his life overturned by the Valkyries and been drafted into the rebel forces.

One of the problems with following the Star Wars model for this story is figuring out what to do with him next. If I go along with Mr. Lucas, I need to have my hero go into battle against a stronghold of the demons that have taken over the country. But at this point I haven’t really mentioned the dark forces behind the throne, much less set anything up for a big finale.

This is the reason why I need to focus more on my writing and less on Farmville. I think I’m going to have to cut way back on my gaming even before I give it up for November.

On that note, I’m going to stop right there and get back to work. I’ll check in again on Wednesday.

Ten days left before NaNoWriMo starts. Are YOU ready?

1 Comment

Filed under NaNoWriMo, The Writing Experience

One response to “The Best Laid Plans…

  1. I understand needing to avoid procrastination. Totally one of my faults. One thing to remember about the Monomyth is that it’s a basic structure, you’re allowed to fit other information in-between the beats. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

