NaNoWriMo – Day 4

Things are going pretty well so far with my writing. I’ve got 8,192 words so far, so I am slightly ahead of schedule.

When I reviewed the plot summary I had written in October, I broke it out into individual scenes, thirty-three in total. What I decided to do for NaNoWriMo is to write one of those scenes every day. I thought that if I could make each of the scenes come out to be at least close to the daily goal, if not over, then I should easily make 50,000 words for the month. And so far it is working.

Of course, some of the scenes aren’t as easy to make fit into the daily word count goal. They are inherently simpler, and so should be fewer words. Today’s scene was an example. One of my Valkyries followed my hero home (without his knowledge) to make sure he was okay after being severely beaten, then she sat on his back porch and thought about things. The scene is basically a big info dump, but I managed to drag it out to 1,459 words, which brings me just a couple hundred words short of the daily goal of 1,667. Since I wrote 1,901 yesterday, and over 2,000 words each day before that, I’m still ahead.

Tomorrow is going to be another challenge. The scene as I wrote it involves my hero going to work and doing a search on the Internet. Again, not a big scene. But I can write a bit about how he gets ready for work, and the bus ride to get there, as well as some of his job duties and work rules to fill it out. There will also be a lot of introspection and speculation on his part about the strange blond woman with the flaming sword that saved his life. And all of this will work up to him meeting her again and getting a more complete introduction into the world of the supernatural, and unlocking the magical powers hidden within him.

I’ll post again on Wednesday. If any of you want to add me as a Writing Buddy on the NaNoWriMo website, you can look for me as user name BSRPG.

Now go write!

PS: For all of my American friends, don’t forget to vote on Tuesday. I don’t care who you vote for, just as long as you vote. But if you’re interested in my opinion (and haven’t figured it out by now from my previous posts), I’m voting for Obama!

2 Comments

Filed under NaNoWriMo, Politics

2 responses to “NaNoWriMo – Day 4

  1. I know novels aren’t the same as a screenplay, but I’ve written screenplays in as little as three months to six months. Besides formatting, I’m assuming a novel probably takes about the same amount of time. The brainstorming process takes the longest, then I outline the scenes and the actual writing is pretty quick for me.

Leave a Reply

