Achievement Unlocked!

Yes, I hit the NaNoWriMo goal of 50,000 words today. I am technically a winner.

However, that doesn’t mean I am done. Far from it. This story just keeps going on and on, which means I have to keep writing until I get to the end. Or at least until November 30.

I’m not sure what it is. Maybe it’s the fact that I had such a good idea of where the story was going to go when I started. Or maybe it’s because when I was planning it I was thinking that the idea was too big for just one book. Or maybe it’s just because I’m a better writer than I was for my first NaNoWriMo two years ago.

Whatever the reason, I feel that my writing has improved, and I am finding things in this story that I never planned for. Things that build it up into a stronger story. Things that make it longer than expected.

The longest story I have written so far was just over 60,000 words. At the rate this one is going it may hit 100,000. Let me give you an example.

When I wrote my last post my main concern for the following day was to get my hero out into the world and introduce him to someone who could train him. I thought it would happen right away.

I was wrong.

Instead, he got up in the middle of the night and met a young mother with a crying baby. He helped with the baby, reminisced about his own kids, and realized that the real reason he needed to be part of the rebel group was so the baby would have a future.

The next day, I wrote about what he had for breakfast, and the people who served it to him.

The day after that, I introduced him to his trainer, but then took the rest of the time traveling to a spot where they could train and getting him to see the magical world around him.

It wasn’t until today when he finally actually used the magic. At the very end of today’s scene.

That’s an awful lot of words written, and a lot of it is probably irrelevant, and will get cut in the editing. But then again, maybe not. As I said, the first scene with the baby gives him some motivation. The second scene with the breakfast introduces a secondary character that could become important if I want to introduce a little bit of romance. Or humor. The third scene was a good way to set up the way that magic works. And a big portion of today’s scene throws in some spiritual conflict, as well as a problem regarding the use of power.

So, lots of good stuff, even if it seemed to drag on when all I really wanted to do was to get to the magic training.

As I mentioned, even though I have hit the goal for November, I am going to continue to write, at the same level that I have been (daily goal of 1667 words per day). However, I’m not sure what I will do when I finish the month. I may continue to write, if the mood is right and the muse is there. If things stall out, though, I’ll probably take a break and review what I have done to see where I may have gotten off track and plan where I need to go next.

I’ll check in again on Wednesday. Keep your word count up! Now go write!

1 Comment

Filed under NaNoWriMo, The Writing Experience

One response to “Achievement Unlocked!

  1. Thanks for talking about the process you used to write so many words a day as well as writing about how the plot took on unexpected twists as you wrote. Go for 100,000 words! Tell the whole story!

Leave a Reply

