You Like Me! You Really Like Me!

I was thinking about posting about my latest short story, but instead I think I’ll take this time for a bit of shameless self-promotion. Or maybe it’s self-indulgence. Either way,

IT”S MY BIRTHDAY!!!

That’s right, kiddies, January 16 is the day I decided to bless the world with my presence. Some people tried to convince me to come earlier, others tried to get me to wait a few more days, but there was just no way I could miss this day. After all, January 16 was the day that:

  • General Siyaj K’ak’ conquered Tikal, enlarging the domain of King Spearthrower Owl of Teotihuacán. (Is it just me or does he sound like he might have been a Klingon?)
  • The first grammar of the Spanish language was presented to Queen Isabella I. (Maybe that’s why I like words so much.)
  • The first edition of El ingenioso hidalgo Don Quijote de la Mancha (Book One of Don Quixote) by Miguel de Cervantes was published in Madrid, Spain. (I’m a lover, not a fighter!)
  • Ernest Shackleton’s expedition found the magnetic South Pole. (I love to explore strange new worlds!)
  • Adolf Hitler moved into his underground bunker, the so-called Führerbunker. (I have been known to hide myself away sometimes.)
  • The Space Shuttle Columbia took off for mission STS-107 which would be its final one. Columbia disintegrated 16 days later on re-entry. (I like to shoot for the stars, even if I occasionally crash and burn.)

It’s also the day that other great people were born, like Frank Zamboni, Ethel Merman, Ronnie Milsap, John Carpenter, and Kate Moss.

So give me some lovin’ already!

Seriously, though, I took the day off of work to spend some time with my wife and be lazy. We went out to eat for all of our meals today (which totally blew my diet, but that’s okay!), and I spent the time in between watching movies and reading. I haven’t done any writing yet today (except for this blog), but I may get around to doing some before I hit the sack tonight.

Speaking of which, in spite of my recent post about keeping it clean, this story is anything but. It is straight-out erotica. I also didn’t use a ‘working draft’. The idea for the story and the style came to me right away, and I just got out of the way and let the words flow straight onto the page.

It’s a bit of an experiment for me. Firstly, because it’s erotica. And secondly, because I am telling it as a dialogue. Every sentence is someone talking. I’m picturing it as a session in a psychiatrists office, with the patient (the man) telling the doctor (a woman) about his fantasies. There is nothing but a back and forth dialogue between the two.

The story also has multiple levels. There’s the actual fantasy, and then there’s the way the doctor is reacting to hearing about the fantasy. As you can guess, it starts getting her hot and bothered, and I’m thinking that by the end of the story she will be having serious problems with keeping her hands off her patient.

I don’t know if I will ever be brave enough to publish the story, but who knows? If nothing else, it is quite an interesting learning experience.

That’s it for tonight. Big Bang Theory is about to start. I’ll be back with another update on Sunday.

And before we go, all together now, let’s hear you sing!

Happy Birthday to You! Happy Birthday to You!…

1 Comment

Filed under About Me, Fiction

One response to “You Like Me! You Really Like Me!

Leave a Reply

