Changing Things Up

First off, sorry for the lateness of this post. I have been goofing off since I got home from church today and just realized that I haven’t posted yet. So this may be a bit short, but better late than never. Now, on to the show!

We all need something new every once in a while. Even if you don’t like change, at the very least there are times when you need to replace the things in your life that wear out, like your clothes or your car.

For me, there are a few new things in my life right now. I just got a promotion at work, which means I have some new duties and I am learning new things about the tools and programs that I have been using for years.

I also just got cable television for the first time in years. I have been getting Internet and phone from our local cable company for several years, but with their bundle price I was able to add television service for a few dollars less than I was paying before.

And finally, I am changing things up with my short stories. The three that I have written so far have been about midgets, which is all well and good for a series titled ‘Dirty Little Freaks’, but the word Little doesn’t necessarily have to restrict the theme to those people who are vertically challenged.

So my new story for this week is about a child. A little boy with a dangerous secret. I’ve already written 400 words, and who knows how many more are to come? My last story ended up at about 2800 words. It didn’t quite turn out the way I wanted it to, but it’s a good start, and I can always edit it later.

So embrace the changes in your life, and if you feel you are in a rut, go ahead and see what you can do to mix it up a bit.

That’s it for the night. See you around the campfire on Wednesday!

Leave a comment

Filed under About Me, The Writing Experience

Leave a Reply

