Inspired by Art

So this week I thought I would find my inspiration by looking over some of my fantasy art books. I have several from artists like Julie Bell, Luis Royo, Boris Vallejo, and John  Bolton. If I can’t find something I can use for my Dirty Little Freaks in one of those books, then there must be something wrong with me.

So that’s my message for this week. Get your inspiration wherever you can. From art, music, television shows and movies, or even other books. As a matter of fact, this whole Dirty Little Freaks series was inspired by a song (Raise Your Glass, by P!nk).

There’s nothing wrong with doing this. Art is usually a matter of stealing inspiration from others. All the great artists do it. The main thing is that they do it better than anyone else. I can’t say that I am one of them, but I am working at improving my craft so that someday I can at least be counted among the ones that tried.

Now then, in case you were wondering, last week’s story came out a little better than I expected. But it was rough going the whole way through. I started off well, but I didn’t really know what was happening until I got to the end. It turned out to be a horror story, like most of my fiction seems to be. I’m not sure why that is. My best guess is that I have a seriously depraved dark side to my personality that insists on coming out in my writing.

The story started out with a boy running through the woods. He climbs into a tree house, and then we find out that he is hiding from something. A creature comes into view that looks like a boy but actually is a monster. The creature follows the boy up into the tree house and the boy cowers in the corner. We expect the boy to be attacked and probably killed by the creature, but then an even worse monster appears and destroys the first creature. At the end, it is revealed that the boy knew about the second monster and that maybe he was hiding from the first one in an attempt to keep it from being killed.

I’m sure the story will need some editing before it will be ready to publish, but I am happy with the way the basic plot and characterization turned out. I’m hoping that once I can give it a little more attention it will be a good candidate for publication.

That’s all for this week. Leave a comment and tell me how you usually get your inspiration, and I’ll see you back here on Wednesday.

1 Comment

Filed under The Writing Experience

One response to “Inspired by Art

  1. Oh that story sounds interesting!

    I get some inspiration from music too, more so than visuals. Sometimes I get my inspiration from things I see or hear or misunderstand.

    I was thinking of your Dirty Little Freaks (love that song!) series when I heard Bad Romance (Lady GaGa) and thought that might be the seed for something too.

Leave a Reply

