Finished Early, Posted Late

I just finished Dirty Little Freaks story number ten (at 8:00 PM on Wednesday night). And as I wrapped it up I also realized that I hadn’t posted my Wednesday update yet. So here we go.

I told you on Sunday that I was going to try something funny this week. I’m not sure how successful I have been with that goal. I tried to write in a humorous voice, and the story is kind of silly, but it isn’t really something that I would laugh at.

The tale is about a woman who goes to work for a lab and ends up being the object of experimentation simply because she refuses to go out with the lab techs. First they turn her into the incredible fifty foot woman, and then they make her into a petite anime schoolgirl. At the end, she finds out that she also got psychic powers that allow her to control other people with her mind, which makes it all worth it.

So it’s a silly story of almost 1,000 words. The character is kind of interesting, and may be someone we will see again. I’m not sure about keeping her powers though. At the very least I would probably cut them back a bit to make them less powerful.

That’s all I’ve got for you tonight. I’ll be meeting with my writing group tomorrow for the first time in a few months. We’re all trying to get back on track, and I’ll be sharing some of my stories with them for critique. I’m not sure which ones yet, but at least I’ve got something.

I’ll be back on Sunday with another update. I’ll be spending the rest of the week trying to figure out what I’ll be writing next. Any suggestions?

Leave a comment

Filed under Fiction, The Writing Experience

Leave a Reply

