Digging for the Story

I’m having a bit of trouble with my latest story. Maybe it wasn’t such a good idea after all. Like I said on Sunday, my idea was more of a scene than anything else, but I am still trying to figure out how to use it.

The idea was about an interesting house. So for my story I am trying to use it as a setting for a story about a couple of boys left alone, and the girl who finds them. The girl is the main character. She is sixteen and she is out jogging when she sees a crippled dog that uses roller skates on its front legs to get around. She follows it to the house and, when the dog starts barking, the youngest boy comes out to confront her.

And that’s all I’ve got so far.

I still don’t know why the boys were left alone, or what the girl is going to do about it. I know a little about the girl, and how she used to live in the city until her father was injured in a mass shooting, so they moved to the country to help with his PTSD. I suppose I should tie that in to the story with the boys somehow, but I’m still working on that.

I’m not sure how this is going to end, but I’ve got about 5o0 words on it so far, so I’ll keep pushing on. I’ll definitely have something when I come out the other side, but your guess is as good as mine as to what it might be.

I’m open to suggestions if you have any ideas as to where I might be able to go with this. Otherwise, I’ll be back on Sunday to let you know how it went. See you then!

Leave a comment

Filed under The Writing Experience

Leave a Reply

