What Do You Think of This?

I finished my prequel stories for my Alchemist character, and now I have a new idea for either a series or at least a book. I was hoping to run it past you fine folks and ask for your feedback.

But first, as promised last week, here is a picture of me in my new outfit.

Sheriff Steele

Sheriff Steele

I don’t know about you, but I think I look pretty damn good in that getup, and I’ll definitely be wearing it to WisCon next month. Of course, it needs a few accessories, like a sheriff’s badge, a fancy pocketwatch, and a tooled leather holster for my shooting iron. Yeehaw!

All right, now that I’ve got that out of my system, here’s my new idea.

The title is “Broken”. And it’s all about a man in the middle of his failures. I started making a list of different things associated with the word broken, like broken dreams, broken heart, broken leg, broken promises, etc. For a novel, I thought I would try to fit in as many of these associations as possible. However, I might start with short stories (since I have been getting so much practice this year), and focus on one of those things per story.

I’m not sure just yet where I am going with this. I might write it as some kind of anti-hero, who gives up after all of the disappointments in his life and turns to the dark side. The other option is to show how he overcomes all of these things and struggles on, like the biblical character of Job. With the way my writing has been going this year, it will probably be door number one, but you never know.

So leave a comment and tell me what you think. And make sure to list your suggestions for other words associated with “broken …” that you think might make a good story.

That’s it for today. I’ll be back on Wednesday to let you know how it is going. See you then!

1 Comment

Filed under About Me, The Writing Experience

One response to “What Do You Think of This?

  1. That’s quite a project, writing around the concept of broken. Maybe try door number two, for we all like stories where the hero surmounts difficulty, wins through, transforms himself, begins anew with better understanding, shows us how to move forward . . . so broken itself begins so negatively (broken dreams, broken hearts, broken doors, broken glass), I’m wondering about the underlying theme. Maybe broken world? So many directions. I hope the coming week brings you more ideas!

Leave a Reply

