And the Freaks Just Keep Coming

This is going to be a short post today, mainly because I’m fighting a cold. It’s 2:30 AM right now and I can’t sleep because of my sinuses, so I decided to get up and write this.

On Monday I started Dirty Little Freaks #18. Just before I started writing I made a comment to one of my co-workers about my little project and asked him if he had any story ideas. He said he needed a few minutes to think about it, so I looked out the window and spotted some workers in the trees bordering the swamp next to our building. That gave me an idea, and I started writing about finding a body. Then my co-worker came back to me with “Apotemnophilia”, something he had learned about in his abnormal psychology class.

Apparently this is a disorder associated with people who fantasize about being an amputee. When paired with Body Integrity Identity Disorder, it can result in repeated self-amputation. He told me a story about someone who took a chainsaw to their leg six times. The first five times the doctors were able to re-attach the severed limb, but the sixth time the damage was too severe.

Definitely one of the most bizarre things I have ever heard, which means it is perfect for Dirty Little Freaks. So now my story is about finding the dead body of someone who got tired of the doctors sewing the leg back on so they went out to the swamp to feed it to an alligator. Unfortunately, they didn’t make it back to the hospital in time and bled out. Oops.

It’s probably not going to be a long story, but so far I’ve got 411 words. I’m shooting for 1,000 words total, but I won’t be too upset if I end up with a little less, or possibly a little more. After all, the story is the important thing, not the word count.

I’m going back to bed now and try to sleep for a couple more hours before getting up for work. I’ll be back on Sunday with another update. See you then!

1 Comment

Filed under The Writing Experience

One response to “And the Freaks Just Keep Coming

  1. good one, what a twisted imagination you have – I liked it – so guess thats makes me as twisted:)

Leave a Reply

