Skin Deep

I decided that I was going to go through with my idea from my last post for my new story. Which means that Dirty Little Freaks #19 is about a plague. I’m calling it Skin Deep, and it is about a deformed man who is in love with a perfect girl, even though he has never approached her for fear of rejection. I stole a page from George R.R. Martin’s Wild Cards series and had our hero create a virus that was supposed to fix his deformities. However, his cure mutated into an airborne plague that swept over the world, causing everyone to transform into superheroes, freaks, monsters, or worse.

At the end of the story, he realizes that he may have destroyed the perfect woman who had caused him to ruin the world, and he races to find her. When he gets there, at first he thinks that everything is okay, because she looks just as beautiful as ever. But when he reaches her side, he realizes that something is dreadfully wrong. He reaches out to touch her and stares in horror as the perfect shell collapses into dust, leaving nothing behind but the realization that beauty is truly only skin deep.

It was a blast writing it, and I finished the 2,300 word tale in only two days, but it was also a bit disturbing. It reminded me a little of one of the stories I wrote back in junior high. It was essentially a revenge fantasy, letting me air some of my frustrations about being on the outside looking in. I know that is a common feeling for teenagers, but I thought I was past things like that and didn’t need to vent in that fashion anymore. So I’m a little bit worried that it was so easy for me to identify with a freak who caused a disaster in order to make himself more socially acceptable.

Which just goes to show that there’s a lot more going on under the skin than you might realize.

I’m not sure what I’m going to do with the rest of my week, but I suppose I had better start thinking about what I’m going to write next. I’ll be back on Sunday to let you know what I come up with. See you then!

Leave a comment

Filed under About Me, The Writing Experience

Leave a Reply

